Configure your Google Scholar to link directly to full-text library resources.
To access individual newspapers or find articles that you come across online, go to the library homepage and click on the Journals link above the main search box. From there, search for the title of the newspaper. We have current access to most major newspapers through a variety of platforms. For direct links to common newspapers, see the list below. For a more in-depth guide to find news, including historical and international, see the Newspapers Research Guide.
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address.
Students: Access lasts until December 31st of your graduation year.
Faculty: Access lasts for 4 years at which time you must re-authenticate.
Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here, and Wall Street Journal Online articles are here. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal in the Publication Browse to see options.
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.
Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. First-time CMU users must register at: this link. CMU users
see detailed access instructions
Dissertations and theses can be rich sources of relevant resources and scholarly literature, as well as provide detailed research methodology. You can find the full text of dissertations and theses in the Dissertations & Theses Global Database.
This year's World Evidence Based Healthcare Day focused on the role of evidence in an infodemic including "the importance of developing rapid evidence-informed responses; streamlining global efforts in producing trustworthy, pragmatic evidence; and ensuring the best-available evidence is accessible, transparent and understood".
The SIFT method of verifying and vetting information you find on the web. First, stop and ask yourself if you trust the source. If not, move on. Also, stop periodically in process of digging to make sure you're still focused on the question at hand. Next, investigate the source. If you're unsure about it, looked for more trusted evidence. Finally, make sure to trace claims, facts and quotes back to their orginal source. Don't rely on someone else's interpretation.
Source: https://www.notion.so/checkpleasecc/Check-Please-Starter-Course-ae34d043575e42828dc2964437ea4eed
During the pandemic, many efforts were made to aggregate reliable medical and research evidence into searchable databases and websites to enable better decision-making, more targeted research efforts and more well-informed public. Below are a few such sources that are continuing to be updated with new information.
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Most databases allow the use of AND, OR and NOT to broaden or narrow and search.
Truncation: You can use an * at the end of a word stem to broaden your search to include related terms. For example, to search for depressive, depressed or depression use the search term depress*
Putting quotes "" around words allows you to search for a phrase. For example, searching mental health without quotes, finds records with both the word 'mental' and 'health' somewhere in the record. Searching "mental health", with quotes, only find records with the phrase "mental health".
Example: How has the Covid-19 pandemic affected mental health and well-being?
NOTE: When you begin doing advanced searching in a new database, look for the Search Help or Information sections to determine how that database works, and how it may differ from other databases with which you are familiar.