Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding the News
To access individual newspapers or find articles that you come across online, go to the library homepage and click on the eJournals link under the main search box. From there, search for the title of the newspaper. We have current access to most major newspapers through a variety of platforms. For direct links to common newspapers, see the list below. For a more in-depth guide to find news, including historical and international, see the Newspapers Research Guide.
New York Times Digital Access via Academic Pass
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address. Access lasts until the graduation date the student enters when registering, 1 year for faculty and staff (renewable). Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones)
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform
. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address
. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here
, and Wall Street Journal Online
articles are here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here
. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal
in the Publication Browse
to see options.
Link to current content of The Economist via the ProQuest platform.
Current access to Barron's Financial Investment news content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Financial news and commentary from the City (London.)
Link to current Washington Post content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Current access to the Philadelphia Inquirer via ProQuest Newsstand.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Digital Edition
Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. Our access to the digital edition includes the last 30 current issues/days. Most recent issues appear first. Select "Menu" in the upper left and then "Show/Hide Editions List" to get to older issues.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and theses can be rich sources of relevant resources and scholarly literature, as well as provide detailed research methodology. You can find the full text of dissertations and theses in the Dissertations & Theses Global Database.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Public Policy Databases
CQ Press Library
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Database Guide
CQ Researcher plus Archive
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
Policy File Index
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tank" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Database Guide
Political Science Database
1985 - current. Access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles. Over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. Database Guide
Other Subject Databases
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines, including the Harvard Business Review; also industry, company, and country reports.
Citations with full-text links for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (ProQuest)
Central resource for articles and documents on all aspects of education. Contains citations, abstracts, and some full text. Database Guide
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide
. Also see definitions of methodologies
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
ACM Digital Library
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.