CMU LibGuides: History: 79-206: Crime and Punishment in Early Modern Europe: Secondary Sources

Library Catalogs

If we don't have the books you need, there are some options for getting them. See the If We don't Have What You Need: Books tab above.

Not sure of which databases to use, or need help with a search strategy? Don't hesitate to ask!

CMU's Catalog
Use the "Everything" tab search to find articles, books, e-books, music. Use the facets on the results page to limit to books and e-books. Use the "Books and more" tab to find books and some e-books (those not in large collections). Your CMU ID is your library card.
Pittcat
Catalog of the University of Pittsburgh, use it to find books, government documents, titles of journals but NOT journal articles. You can borrow materials by getting a special patron borrowing card at the Hillman Library Circulation Desk.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Catalog of Pittsburgh's public library, use it to find books, government documents, audio and visual material and titles of journals and magazines, but NOT journal and magazine articles. Get a Library Card

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog for libraries throughout the U. S. and some European libraries. Find books, government documents, audio and visual material, archival material, titles of journals but NOT journal articles. You can see which libraries have the materials, and then link to them directly to get call number, availability info. You can also link directly to interlibrary loan. For this reason, some use this rather than CMU's own catalog.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods. Text-mine (full text search) over 10 million digitized works and create customized collections.

Journal Articles

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index to arts and humanities journals searchable by subject or cited reference.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952-present. Covers the the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Database Guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.