LibGuides: Heinz College: 90-770 Econometrics for Policy : Data and Statistics

Related Guides to Data and Business Resources

For more resources related to economic, financial and business data, check out these research guides from our Business and Economics Librarian, Ryan Splenda:

Google Dataset Search

Try Google's dataset search. Search the web for datasets on any topic.

International Statistics

Country Statistical Yearbooks
This guide from the University of Wisconsin provides a thorough list of links to the statistical yearbooks or similar collection of 154 countries. Yearbooks typically include economic and demographic data and indicators.

Cross-National Time Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time Series Data Archive was originally established to provide access to the longitudinal data from The Statesmen's Yearbook. The Archive now houses annual data from 200 countries dating back to 1815 on a range of topics related to social science research, including topics such as urbanization, transportation, economics and much more.

Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS programs collects and disseminates on populations, health, HIV and nutrition for over 90 countries.
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies."
Global Health Data Exchange
A comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from around the world. Maintained by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.
Global Health Observatory
The World Health Organization provides this portal to access data and statistics related to issues of global health.
Interational Statistical Agencies
Many statistics are gathered by governments at the country level. This page provides a list of links to statistical agencies around the world.
OECD iLibrary Statistics
Multiple international datasets from the OECD, covering all topics: agriculture, health, economics, patents, R&D, migration, telecommunication, etc., plus all energy industry data from the IEA.
UN Data
This site provides a portal into the wealth of data and statistics collected by the United Nations. Topics covered include health, demography, migration, employment, income, trade and much more.
World DataBank
World Bank datasets for development indicators for all countries in finance, communications, environment, education, labor, health, and economics, current and historical. You can also search their microdata catalog .

United States Demographic Statistics

US Census Data Portal
This is the main portal to the data and statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.

Population Reference Bureau
PRB provides instant summaries, both graphically and in text, of the demographic features of the U.S. population. Data can be customized by users on such topics as population estimates and projections, race and ethnicity, migration, income and poverty, the elderly population, and more. The data also may be downloaded.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.

Economic and Labor Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
National, international, regional, and industry accounts measures, such as GDP, government expenditures, balance of payments, etc. Federal Reserve Economic Database.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is a database maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It contains thousands of economic time series and covers topics including banking, consumer price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates and much more. It includes some international information.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)'s Public Use Data Archive
The NBER data collection is an eclectic mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data.
International Financial Statistics
Includes this and all other databases from the International Monetary fund. Time series data used in economic analysis. Approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas.

Data Aggregators

The library offers access to a number of commercial products that aim to facilitate the discovery and use of data from public and private sources.

Sage Data (formerly DataPlanet) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Includes tons of datasets for business, industry, labor, energy, population, income, health, politics, and more.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.
Sage Stats This link opens in a new window
Features data series created from more than 50,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.

Sources for Microdata

Microdata are data for which the statistical units are individual people or objects. These data have not yet been aggregated into statistics about groups, and thus can be downloaded, manipulated, used in statistical models, etc. Below are a few sources for large population and economic microdata sets.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The ICPSR archive includes studies from the social sciences and related disciplines, including significant international datasets. Since Carnegie Mellon is a member of ICPSR, faculty and students can order data free of charge. Data files can be downloaded directly to your on-campus workstation from the web site.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS--University of Minnesota - Minnesota Population Center)
IPUMS-USA provides microdata on the American population drawn from the federal censuses and American Community Survey from 1850 to the present. IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. IPUMS also provides custom data extracts from numerous other surveys and censuses.
World Bank Microdata Catalog
The World Bank provides access to microdata for many of its surveys and data collection efforts around the world. You can limit your search of the catalog to open and public use data sets or search the entire collection.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.

Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
On the Web of Science (WoS), this provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. Find the Data Citation Index database on the WoS homepage from the top dropdown menu next to Search.