CMU LibGuides: Entrepreneurship: CUSTOMERS

News Sources

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines; also industry reports.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
academic and trade journals and magazines in all business disciplines; also industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.

B2B Markets

ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle) This link opens in a new window
various modules offering list generation of businesses in the US, Canada, or worldwide - by detailed criteria: industry, size, location, etc.

Demographics and characteristics of consumer markets

EASI Analytics This link opens in a new window
Consumer demographics database within Sage Data (formerly DataPlanet) - select it from "Browse by Subject" on left, then choose the latest "EASI Market Planner." Has Consumer Expenditures, Behavior, Spending Analytics, Media Use and more - all with geographical breakdowns.
ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle) This link opens in a new window
Use US Consumers/Lifestyles module to locate and count customers by various criteria.
Statista This link opens in a new window
In addition to market statistics, provides consumer behavior, attitudes and opinion data.
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
New platform includes access to eMarketer content and Business Insider Intelligence content. eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media and entertainment.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Recent data is available here; earlier data is on microfiche in Hunt Library. Database Guide
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Easy to find statistics on all topics, primarily US. Database Guide

Population Studies from the Census Bureau
including international statistics and topic breakdowns.

Market analysis

Source: http://web.stanford.edu/group/ifarmteams/files/BiotechConnectionSept162014.pdf

Assessing your market means finding the potential revenue for a product or service - and there are many ways to do this, including primary research (interviews, surveys) and secondary research (reports, statistics, articles.)

We can help with the secondary research:

Locate an Industry Overview
Find analysis in articles in the News Sources box on this page (i.e. use "market" and "size" with your keywords)
Research your customer base.
Use government statistics such as - the Annual Survey of Manufacturers Value of Products Shipments, which covers several thousand individual products.

Consumer spending and attitudes

EASI Market Planner in Data-Planet database (in Browse by Subject on left)

BLS Consumer Expenditure Survey