CMU LibGuides: Heinz College: 90-894 Policy Topics I: Federal Budget Policy: Government and Organizations

Other government resources

Government Accountability Office
The Government Accountability Office (GAO) is a nonpartisan agency that provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for the U.S. Congress to ensure the accountability and transparency of government operations.
The Congressional Budget Office
The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) is a nonpartisan federal agency that provides economic and budgetary analysis to the U.S. Congress, helping lawmakers make informed decisions about fiscal policy and legislation.
Office of Management and Budget
"OMB’s mission is to assist the President in meeting his policy, budget, management and regulatory objectives and to fulfill the agency’s statutory responsibilities."
The Red Book, GAO Principles of Appropriation Law
This multi-volume guide published by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) provides detailed information and guidance on the legal use of federal funds.
Internal Revenue Service
The website of the United States' tax collection agency which administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress.
Internal Revenue Code
The IRS provide this website to explore and search the full Internal Revenue Code (via the Legal Information Institute website), as well as other government tax information.

Statistical Resources

Census Data
Voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
National, international, regional, and industry accounts measures, such as GDP, government expenditures, balance of payments, etc. Federal Reserve Economic Database.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Census Bureau Homepage
The US Census Bureau's Homepage where you can find lots of information about the census and related topics
Data.gov
The US government's open data portal. Provides a one-stop location for searching data from across US government agencies and branches.
FRED - Economic Data from the Federal Reserve
816,000 economic data time series from 107 national, international, public, and private sources, along with tools for interaction, display, and dissemination.
National Center for Education Statistics
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS--University of Minnesota - Minnesota Population Center)
Two groups of data are available. IPUMS-USA consists of twenty-five samples of the American population drawn from the federal censuses of 1850 to 1990. IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world.
United States Treasury
The United States Treasury website has a Data section that provides longitudinal data on topics like interest rates, national debt, treasury receipts and outlays, and more.

Government Documents

Congress.gov
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information." It replaces the long-standing thomas.gov for legislative information.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional materials ca. 1789-present. Full text of hearings, Senate and House documents, the U.S. Serial Set (a collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress), legislative histories, committee prints, etc. Database Guide
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal research database, with numerous libraries covering congressional publications, law publications, treaties, etc.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Access over 130,000+ city publications from the five hundred largest cities in North America. Documents include budgets, surveys, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, and annual reports. This resource also includes documents from municipal and regional organizations and agencies and other agencies with coverage mostly from 2000-present.

Organizations

AGA
A professional organization dedicated to advancing accountability, transparency, and leadership in government financial management, providing education, certification, and networking opportunities for professionals in the public sector.
Association for Budgeting and Financial Management
"ABFM advances the science, processes, and art of public administration as it relates to budgeting and financial management."
American Association for Budget and Program Analysis
"The American Association for Budget & Program Analysis is an independent nonprofit association incorporated in Washington DC in 1976 to highlight the importance of thorough and professional analysis for government decisions. "
Government Finance Officer’s Association
"The Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA), founded in 1906, represents public finance officials throughout the United States and Canada. The association's more than 20,000 members are federal, state/provincial, and local finance officials deeply involved in planning, financing, and implementing thousands of governmental operations in each of their jurisdictions. GFOA's mission is to advance excellence in public finance."
Center for Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (CBPP) is a nonpartisan research and policy institute in the United States that focuses on analyzing and advocating for policies that reduce poverty and inequality, primarily through federal and state budgetary and tax policies.
The Concord Coalition
The Concord Coalition is a nonpartisan, grassroots organization in the United States that advocates for responsible fiscal policy, focusing on reducing federal budget deficits and ensuring long-term economic sustainability.
Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget
A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that advocates for fiscally responsible policies and provides analysis on federal budgetary issues, with the goal of promoting long-term economic stability and reducing the national debt.

CCH OmniTax

The CCH (Commerce Clearing House) OmniTax Library is provided for CMU students, faculty and staff via the IntelliConnect and the new AnswerConnect platforms. This resource provides a portal to a wealth of federal and state (and some international) tax information including case law, codes and statues, tax forms, federal publications and news.

Municipal Bond Information

Bloomberg Terminal This link opens in a new window
One terminal located in Hunt Library. Another located in Sorrells Library (4th fl. Wean Hall) – financial information system providing analysis and quotes for equities and indices, current company, industry and market news, and economic data for the countries of the world.

Additional terminals are located in the Tepper School. Please consult Tepper Technology Services for additional info and rules for accessing.
Mergent Bondviewer This link opens in a new window
U.S. corporate and municipal bond data: issue details, offering documents, ratings, coupon information, covenants, redemptions and historical pricing.
Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board Data (MSRB) This link opens in a new window
As the primary regulator of the $3.7 trillion municipal security market, the MSRB collects and makes publicly available through its Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA). The trades represent transactions by investors and dealers in the over-the-counter market for municipal securities issued by municipal entities, including states, counties, cities and special tax districts. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access. NOTE: Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.