If you're interested in opportunities with a specific company, or are preparing for an upcoming interview or job application, you can find out more about that company through the following resources. You can learn more about where the company is investing, its financial health, its location, its size, and its competitors.
A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Over 800,000 US private companies profiled. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.
Various modules: US and Canadian company directories, new business filings, consumer lifestyles, and more, with data visualization and mapping. Good for both public and private company info.
Reports on companies, industries, and countries, often containing SWOT and 5 forces analysis; also M&A, financial deal, investor and statistical databases; case studies; and market data on consumer products.
Understanding current trends and shifts in an industry can give you a sense of where opportunities in information and technology management may be emerging. These resources provide high-level overviews of industry trends, key players and competitors, written by industry analysts and experts. You can also find data and statistics about specific industries and sectors.
Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook in the US, UK, China, US States, and globally.
Industry Wizard Tool: Located under "Expert Tools" allows users to quickly search, query, and save industry ratios, data, and statistics from all IBISWorld reports for benchmarking purposes, strategies, etc. Data is downloadable.
Market research reports for industries, specializing in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies - but with traditional industries as well.
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.
Use of this resource is only for academic research purposes .
Reports on companies, industries, and countries, often containing SWOT and 5 forces analysis; also M&A, financial deal, investor and statistical databases; case studies; and market data on consumer products.
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.
Business news and trade journals can be a great way to understand current trends related to an industry or a specific company. The following databases and newspapers are great sources for this kind of 'hot off the press' information. For example, find out if a company is planning an expansion to a new location or is investing in a new sector of research & development.
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here, and Wall Street Journal Online articles are here. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal in the Publication Browse to see options.
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Western PA company and business news, plus lists of top local business in every industry.
Note: Access change New users must create a logon with an email ending in @andrew.cmu.edu. Click link above and go to Sign In on upper right. Click on Create Free Account, then click continue. Mark box next to name of Pittsburgh Business Times for access. After creating your account, for access, you can just click on link above and sign in with your Andrew email and the password you created.
For almost all databases, enter your Andrew username and PW when asked. When in doubt, use the VPN.
If you have citations for specific articles, check the Journal Search to see if we subscribe to the journal that contains the article. If the CMU library collection doesn't have what you're looking for, you can request an article scan via Interlibrary Loan.
Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages. Install the plug-in for Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, or other browsers by going to this LibKey Nomad download page and choosing Carnegie Mellon University as your institution when prompted.
Private, non-publicly-traded companies can be particularly difficult to glean information about, as they do not have to conform to the same transparent reporting standards as publicly traded firms. The two database below specialize in information about start-ups and private companies and can be a good place to learn more about specific prospective employers operating in the private sector.
A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Over 800,000 US private companies profiled. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.