Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
will show you ways to research industries for coursework, competitive intelligence, investing, job searches, etc.
Find market size, industry leaders, statistics, current status, future trends, histories and profiles of the industries here. If you look up the NAICS codes for your industry first, this will be a bit easier.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook in the US, UK, China, US States, and globally.
Industry Wizard Tool: Located under "Expert Tools" allows users to quickly search, query, and save industry ratios, data, and statistics from all IBISWorld reports for benchmarking purposes, strategies, etc. Data is downloadable.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics-based reports, studies, dossiers, and data points on industries and markets internationally. Downloadable in various formats.
MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new window
in-depth profiles of thousands of specific industries in many countries. Click on "Databases" for market data analytics on consumer products, and extensive economic/demographic data on hundreds of countries.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for industries, specializing in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies - but with traditional industries as well.
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
New platform includes access to eMarketer content and Business Insider Intelligence content. eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media and entertainment.
Robotics Business Review This link opens in a new window
Market research, news, trends,reports and top companies in the business of robotics. NOTE: You will have to log in with your CMU credentials to view this page (RBR requires additional verification).
D&B Hoovers (formerly OneSource) This link opens in a new window
Contains Freedonia and other excellent industry market research reports when you use any of the "Industries" functions on the search screen.
GlobalData Power (formerly Alternative Energy eTrack) This link opens in a new window
Covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes news, deals, analysis, forecasts, and more. NOTE: Click on the "If you have IP access click here" link.
First Research Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
Background intelligence reports for all kinds of industries. Enter term describing your industry (i.e. solar) in search box, and refine to find most recent report. Valuation multiples available for many industries.
Gartner Core Research This link opens in a new window
specializes in technology products and services. (Note: Dataquest reports are not in our subscription.)
Business Monitor International This link opens in a new window
Country-focused industry reports with SWOT analysis, market trends, forecasts, and competitive data.
Sometimes reports on industries, such as an annual review, come out in their trade journals - found in these databases. Use search terms such as “market,” “forecast,” “trends,” “industry overview,” etc. along with your own market identifier, i.e. “organic food."
Business Source Premier
academic and trade journals and magazines in all business disciplines; also industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports.
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape.
Wide-ranging news database containing many smaller databases within it - only source for full text Wall Street Journal and New York Times.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
Has the most wide-ranging international, national and local news and trade publications.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Financial analysis reports on thousands of lines of business, from the national to zip code level, used for benchmarking, business planning, valuation, and market analysis.
SAGE Business Cases
Provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. The platform provides select access to cases (click "content available to me"), a user-friendly platform, and downloading cases. SAGE has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).