CMU LibGuides: Information Systems: 67-285 Across the Universe: From Intelligent Agents to Users: Finding scholarly research

Google Scholar

Information Systems Guide

For a detailed guide on resources useful in foreign policy, visit the Information Systems Research Guide.

Psychology Guide

For a detailed guide on psychology resources, visit the Psychology Research Guide.

Machine Learning and AI Guide

For a detailed guide on machine learning and AI resources, visit the Machine Learning Research Guide.

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

The Wiley Handbook of Psychology, Technology and Society by Larry D. Rosen (Editor); Nancy Cheever (Editor); L. Mark Carrier (Editor)
Springer Handbook of Computational Intelligence by Janusz Kacprzyk (Editor); Witold Pedrycz (Editor)

AI-assisted Scholarly Search Tools

Keenious This link opens in a new window
Keenious is a resource recommender tool designed to aid in the identification and discovery of scholarly research. It analyzes writing from text documents and PDFs to recommend the most relevant articles and topics to explore using artificial intelligence combined with conventional search algorithms. For more information, visit this guide.
scite This link opens in a new window
Scite is an AI-enhanced research support platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles. It allows users to see how publications have been cited, by providing the context of the citation and classifying whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence. The AI Assistant utilizes ChatGPT functionality with reference check processes. Additional features includes features such as: notifications, custom dashboards, funding analyses, and reference checks.

NOTE: During initial registration, please use your CMU email address to access your free account.

Research Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.

AIS Electronic Library
The Association for Information Systems provides this central repository for research papers and journal articles relevant to the information systems academic community.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide

Journals

Information Systems

Artificial Intelligence

Psychology