Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Below are archives, libraries, and museums for Latin American and Caribbean History. For additional resources, see History: Archives, Libraries, and Museums. To search for archival materials, use the resources at History: Databases: Archival.
Benson Latin American Collection
one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies. In partnership with the Teresa Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies (LLILAS)
, the Benson Collection is a global destination for research and study, featuring over a million volumes as well as a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States.
John Carter Brown Library
Collection of 50,000 rare books (printed before ca. 1825), manuscripts, and 16,000 reference books and secondary sources (printed after ca. 1825) is distinguished in many subject areas. Most well-known, perhaps, are the Library’s extensive holdings in the literature of European exploration and travel in the Western Hemisphere, from the first Latin edition of the Columbus letter of 1493, through nearly all of the contemporary narratives of Spanish, Portuguese, French, Dutch, and English discovery, exploration, and settlement.
LANIC - Libraries
List of libraries created by the Latin American Network Information Center. Note: Please note that as of July 2015, this page is no longer being actively updated or maintained. The page remains at this address as an archival and research resource. If the page is updated in the future, this notice will be removed.
LANIC - Museums
List of museums created by the Latin American Network Information Center. Note: Please note that as of July 2015, this page is no longer being actively updated or maintained. The page remains at this address as an archival and research resource. If the page is updated in the future, this notice will be removed.
A world-renowned independent research library in Chicago, the Newberry offers readers an extensive noncirculating collection of rare books, maps, music, manuscripts, and other printed material spanning six centuries. Its staff provides award-winning service and supports a rich array of programmatic opportunities. Latin American History
History & Modern Languages Librarian