CMU LibGuides: History: Maps: General

CMU Map Databases

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers. These maps are for non-commercial use only, and may not be downloaded, clipped, printed, resold, retained or used for commercial or business research purposes, including but not limited to environmental, property or other land use evaluations. Digital Sanborn Maps are reproduced and distributed under license from Environmental Data Resources, Inc. For information on how to obtain maps for commercial and business research purposes, go to www.edrnet.com/sanborn.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.

Maps on Microform in Hunt Library

Manufacturers Mutal Fire Insurance Company Industrial Site Maps: 1894-1954
HUNT MFICHE-3 338.0973 M294 and Guide

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, English, Ethnic & Gender Studies, First Year Writing, History, Language & Linguistics, Law & Legal, Reference, Religion, Women's Studies

General Maps on the Web

Age of Exploration: Maps
Interactive maps, and maps covering topics like settlements, surveying, etc.
American West: Maps
Thematic data maps and maps covering all topics, such as military posts, cities, counties, territories, routes, etc.
David Rumsey Map Collection
DIR and ORB Antique and Medieval Atlas: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Emperors (Christos Nüssli)
Harvard Map Collection
Historical Map & Chart Collection (NOAA)
The Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection is a rich archive of high-resolution images capturing a vast wealth of the U.S. government's historical surveying and mapping. The collection of over 35,000 scanned images - covering offshore and onshore sites - includes some of the Nation's earliest nautical charts, bathymetric maps, city plans, and Civil War battlefield maps.
Interactive Maps: United States Census Bureau
Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
Maps-Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5.5 million maps, 80,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including over 19,000 cds/dvds. The online map collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form.
Map History / History of Cartography THE Gateway to the Subject
The site's 120 'pages' offer comment and guidance, and over 6,500 annotated links selected for relevance and quality.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Comprehensive site for maps from all over the world, arranged by region, current as well as Historical Maps. Also includes links to other Historical Map Web Sites, as well as links to city, country, state and weather map sites.
Railroad Maps: the Library of Congress
Contains 623 maps chosen from more than 3,000 railroad maps and about 2,000 regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century.
Sanborn Maps - Library Of Congress
Searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division.
World Historical Gazetteer
Providing a collection of content and services that permit world historians, their students, and the general public to do spatial and temporal reasoning and visualization in a data rich environment at global and trans-regional scales.
WWW-VL: HISTORY: MAPS