Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Dataset Search
Try Google's dataset search. Search the web for datasets on any topic.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.
Health and Demographic Data
US Census Data Portal
This is the main portal to the data and statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.
CDC: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
This is the CDC's "primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations."
Global Health Observatory
The World Health Organization provides this portal to access data and statistics related to issues of global health.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
Healthcare systems and hospital data
HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project data
Provides data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample and from the State Inpatient Databases. Users can generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S.
National Hospital Discharge Survey
An annual survey from the US National Center for Health Statistics that provides data on patient characteristics, diagnoses, and various forms of treatment.
National Survey of Ambulatory Surgery
Provides characteristics of ambulatory surgery visits to both hospitals and freestanding ambulatory surgery centers such as patient demographics, source of payment, diagnoses, and procedures.
FastStats on hospital utilization provides direct links to relevant tables from NCHS surveys and publications.
Local and Regional Data
Western PA Regional Data Center
"The Data Center maintains Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh’s open data portal, and provides a number of services to data publishers and users. The Data Center also hosts datasets from these and other public sector agencies, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations."
Allegheny County Analytics
Provided by the Allegheny Country Dept of Human Services, this portal provides data sets, publications, visualizations and more to support data analytics for topics related to populations and services in Allegheny County.
Allegheny County GIS Open Data
For spatial data sets related to Allegheny County, including a broad range of topic areas from health and social services to business and the environment.
Open Data Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania's open data portal. Provides access to data at the state and county level across a broad range of topics.