CMU LibGuides: Mellon College of Science: 38-304: PROPEL: Science Communication and Social Impact (Spring 2021): Have a Topic? Now Find an Article

Databases for Finding Research Articles on Climate Change

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library can be used for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering with access to more than 40,000 full text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex, check the appropriate box at the top.
Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides the most complete collection of resources available to support this multidisciplinary field. The collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Database Guide
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this link to configure Google Scholar to find full-text at the CMU Libraries. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
Pollution Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in air pollution, marine pollution, and waste management.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Useful New Resource for Accessing Full-text Articles

The LibKey Nomad browser extension provides one-click access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web and in databases. Find information on how to install here.