Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It can be helpful to read an encyclopedia article on your topic to get some background, concepts, keywords, etc. Many encyclopedias also have bibliographies at the end of articles which can start you off on your research. Not every topic may be represented in an encyclopedia, but if they are, it can be a good starting point.
Background-Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
HUNT STACKS-2 HM251 .B476 1995
Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
An international overview of the state of our contemporary knowledge in sociocultural psychology - as a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities.
Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.
Curriculum Connections Psychology: The Individual and Society
This book examines people as individuals and as social animals. It analyzes the notions of personality and intelligence and considers how people relate to and communicate with each other and society. The chapters discuss the types of social interaction and the rules that guide them, as well as the feelings and thoughts that individuals have about society, social situations, and the people around them.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Basic source for research methods in all fields.
Health Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
From the intro: "The field of health and behavior addresses the interaction of behavioral, psychological, emotional, social, cultural, and biological factors with physical health outcomes, such as heart disease, cancer, arthritis, diabetes, and chronic pain. "
If you need more psychology resources, see the Psychology guide.
Psychology Research Liaison Librarian
Ana E. Van Gulick, Ph.D.
Research Liaison to Psychology and BrainHub
Department of Psychology
Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition
Carnegie Mellon University
Hunt Library 410
Psychology and Social & Decision Sciences Liaison Librarian