CMU LibGuides: 99-519 Skyglow: Where Have All the Stars Gone?: Finding research and technical resources

Discipline-specific Research Databases

Architecture & Design

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles with international coverage, books, image collection and more with a focus on the visual arts and architecture.
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Database Guide
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Database Guide
MADCAD This link opens in a new window
Online access to International (ICC) building codes, related standards from ASHRAE, ASTM, NFPA, etc., USGBC LEED Reference Guides, and Wiley’s Graphic Standards.

Astronomy and Physics

Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
This SAO/NASA resource is known chiefly as a bibliographic database with links to fulltext articles in astronomy and astrophysics, this database also describes other areas of physics and is linked to the arXiv.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
E-print database for physics and related fields.

Public Policy

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tanks" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. It includes over a million pages of premium content from leading publishers and restored from organizations that have disappeared. The resource includes access to the North American City Reports collection - a collection of over 130,000 city documents from the five hundred largest cities in North America, including various municipal and regional organizations.

Environmental Science and Engineering

Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides the most complete collection of resources available to support this multidisciplinary field. The collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Database Guide
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.

Health and Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest Public Health is a new and unique database; designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text." - web site description. Database Guide

Development and Economics

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citations with full-text links for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Access over 130,000+ city publications from the five hundred largest cities in North America. Documents include budgets, surveys, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, and annual reports. This resource also includes documents from municipal and regional organizations and agencies and other agencies with coverage mostly from 2000-present.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Allows searching by historical time period of subject of articles. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
ca. 1750-present. Integrates 4 integrating four bibliographies— the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated on a monthly basis, the database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.

Social Sciences and Sociology

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
1987-present. Covers the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Database Guide
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952-present. Covers the the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Database Guide

Multidisciplinary databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is SciVerse's leading full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books. Content may be mined for noncommercial purposes using the ScienceDirect APIs. Please view the terms and conditions for more information and how to gain access. Or contact your liaison librarian for more information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this link to configure Google Scholar to find full-text at the CMU Libraries. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Handbooks, Encyclopedias and eBooks

The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice by Ryan Holifield; Jayajit Chakraborty; Gordon Walker
ISBN: 9780367581121
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice. With wide-ranging discussion of current debates, controversies, and questions in the history, theory, and methods of environmental justice research, contributed by over 90 leading social scientists, natural scientists, humanists, and scholars from professional disciplines from six continents, it is an essential resource both for newcomers to this research and for experienced scholars and practitioners.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Jerome O. Nriagu (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780444522726
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Environmental health has evolved over time into a complex, multidisciplinary field. Many of the key determinants and solutions to environmental health problems lie outside the direct realm of health and are strongly dependent on environmental changes, water and sanitation, industrial development, education, employment, trade, tourism, agriculture, urbanization, energy, housing and national security. Environmental risks, vulnerability and variability manifest themselves in different ways and at different time scales. While there are shared global and transnational problems, each community, country or region faces its own unique environmental health problems, the solution of which depends on circumstances surrounding the resources, customs, institutions, values and environmental vulnerability.
The Routledge Handbook of Architecture, Urban Space and Politics by Nikolina Bobic; Farzaneh Haghighi
ISBN: 9780367629175
Publication Date: 2022-10-01
This handbook explores how architecture and urban space can unsettle the unquestioned construct of the spatial politics of governing. Considering both ongoing and unprecedented global problems - from violence and urban warfare, the refugee crisis, borderization, detention camps, terrorist attacks to capitalist urbanization, inequity, social unrest and climate change - this handbook provides a comprehensive and multidisciplinary research focused on the complex nexus of politics, architecture and urban space.
Research Methods in Building Science and Technology by Rahman Azari (Editor); Hazem Rashed-Ali (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021-09-10
This book covers the range of methodological approaches, methods and tools currently used in various areas of building science and technology research and addresses the current lack of research-method literature in this field.
Smart and Sustainable Cities and Buildings by Rob Roggema (Editor); Anouk Roggema (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-05-12
This book brings together the papers presented at the Smart and Sustainable Built Environments Conference, 2018 (SASBE).