LibGuides: Resources for Teaching and Learning: Home

Customized Support from your Librarian

Custom Library Instruction
The Carnegie Mellon University Libraries support university instructors in many ways. This document outlines the instructional services we
offer including materials of interest to instructors looking to support student learning. These services are designed to assist you in planning your courses and reflect the different pedagogical offerings from the Libraries.
Research Guides
We can create custom course or subject-specific research guides for your class or program. These guides bring together many diverse and relevant library and freely available resources into one easy-to-navigate space.

Online Courses, Modules and Webinars

Sage Campus This link opens in a new window
Sage Campus provides access to a growing collection of online courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email address. If you are an instructor, please contact Sarah Young to upgrade your account in order to manage student cohorts.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides thousands of training videos and tutorials covering web languages, online technologies, website best practices and more. Carnegie Mellon University students, faculty and staff members have unlimited access to the entire library.
CARMA (Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis) This link opens in a new window
CMU's Center for Behavioral and Decision Research sponsors a university membership to CARMA (the Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis). CARMA provides webinars from leading industry methodologists in the social and organizational sciences. To access their content, go to CARMA and create a free account using your andrew.cmu.edu email address.
Dataquest This link opens in a new window
Carnegie Mellon Libraries offer university-wide premium licenses for Dataquest, the scaffolded online learning platform with a full catalog of interactive courses; skill paths such as data visualization, machine learning, and data scraping and career paths using Python, R, Power BI, and Tableau. You learn by doing, completing exercises and getting immediate feedback directly. To activate your premium account, please complete the form using the link above.

Course materials

The Libraries supports your teaching and student learning through the provision of resources, course texts and other materials. If you plan to use a book, book chapter or article in your class, check with us to see if this material can be made available to students through the library. Course reserves can be set up for your material to ensure that all students in a class can access the content. We can also help you identify free and open access resources for teaching and learning.

Course Reserves
Course reserves are available online (as an e-book) 24/7 or as a physical copy held at the circulation desk for short-term use by students. In some cases, we may be able to digitize print material to make it available electronically. Request course reserves as early as possible to ensure they'll be ready for the beginning of your course.
Open Educational Resources
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries promotes free or low-cost educational resources on its campus through increased outreach and programing that supports the exploration, identification, evaluation and creation of teaching and learning materials that are customizable, student-driven, and drive lasting educational experience.

Platforms for Collaboration, Coursework and Open Research

Lab Archives
LabArchives is an Electronic Research Notebook that can be used for securely storing, sharing, searching, and managing research data in any field or as a lab manual and notebook in lab classes.
Open Science Framework
OSF is a free, open source web application for project management from the non-profit, Center of Open Science. Researchers use OSF to collaborate, document, archive, share, and register research projects, materials, and data.
protocols.io
A free and open access repository for recording and sharing detailed up-to-date research methods and protocols. It allows researchers to easily create, edit, share, and get credit for their protocols, and provides an open access hub for scientists to communicate improvements and corrections to scientific methods.

Liaison Librarian

Sarah Young

Contact:

Hunt Library, Rm 109G

412-268-7384

Subjects: Information Systems, Political Science, Public Policy, Reference, Social & Decision Sciences, Statistics

Library Workshops

Students in a classroom with a banner reading 'workshops' over the image

The Libraries offer many workshops, both virtual and in person, from conducting literature reviews to data visualization and management and more. Check out our list of workshops and register at the CMU Libraries workshop page.

Library Videos and Tutorials

We offer a number of videos and tutorials varying in length related to using CMU Libraries resources and services.

Other useful guides

Using Images in Class Assignments
This guide provides guidance for student using images in class assignments, including assignments that might be publicly shared. It covers copyright considerations, proper citation and links to many sources for free-to-reuse images.
Learning and Using R
This guide provides many resources for learning and using R for statistical analysis and data visualization.