CMU LibGuides: Zine Workshop: Zines

How to Make a Zine

Zine Making
writing, folding, assembling, copying, etc.
How to Make a Mini Zine

Electric Zine Maker
a downloadable "printshop and art tool for easily making and printing zines."

Zine Resources in Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh Art Book Fair
Pittsburgh Zine Fair
Pittsburgh Center for Creative Reuse Located in Pittsburgh'sPoint Breeze neighborhood, PCCR operates a unique brick and mortar store for used and surplus art and craft supplies.
Artists Image Resource Located on the Northside, AIR is artist run nonprofit print and imaging lab that supports the creation of new work with artists, educators, and activists
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Zine Collection

Zine Archives and Collections

List of Zine Libraries
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) "The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."
Library of Congress Zine Collection
Zines on Internet Archive A collection of over 50K zines!
Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library Located in Lawrence, Kansas the mission of Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library is to organize as a non-hierarchical collective for the purpose of sharing and distributing information.
Barnard College Zine Library
The Riot Grrrl Collection at New York University "The Riot Grrrl Collection documents the evolution of the Riot Grrrl movement, particularly in the years between 1989 and 1996."
Fleet Library at RISD's Zine Library
Interference Archive "The mission of Interference Archive is to explore the relationship between cultural production and social movements. This work manifests in an open stacks archival collection, publications, a study center, and public programs including exhibitions, workshops, talks, and screenings, all of which encourage critical and creative engagement with the rich history of social movements." [from website]
Jewish Zine Archive The Jewish Zine Archive began in 2019 and is a physical & digital archive for zines made by writers & artists who identify as or with Jewishness and/or Judaism.

Free Downloads

Printed Matter Digital Downloads Printed Matter now offers digital artists’ publications, available for free download.
Half Letter Press
How to Digital Collage: Part #1 – Finding source images free collage images
Project NIA zines Project NIA is an advocacy, organizing, popular education, research, and capacity-building center with the long-term goal of ending youth incarceration.
Media Archeology Lab ephemerMAL Zine