Use article databases and related tools to look for articles. Article databases give citation information (i.e. author, title, journal name, date, etc.) about articles in periodicals, and may include an abstract or even the full-text of an article.
- America: History & Life
Find articles in American history periodicals.
- Art & Architecture Source
An excellent index to art journals and selected architecture journals. Includes some citations that the Avery Index misses, and features many full text articles. Select <Choose Databases> and check <Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals> box for a more complete search.
Consists of three linked databases: ReView, which delivers digitized 19th and early 20th century art, architecture, and design journals; Design Abstracts Retrospective, a journal index; , a biographical dictionary.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoirede la de l'art (RILA)
European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. Covers western art (including architecture and archeology) from late antiquity to the present. Includes articles, some books, conference proceedings and dissertations, and exhibition catalogs.
- Historical Abstracts
Database of citations and abstracts to journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations in the areas of history, anthropology, political science, religon, etc. for all countries except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
- 19th Century Masterfile
ca. 1800 to early 1900s.
Index to nineteenth and early twentieth century articles, books and government documents.
Full-text is available for back issues of many scholarly journals including
- Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians
- Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture
Find articles in magazines and newspapers in all subject areas. The full-text of many articles is available online. Most coverage is recent, but Historical Databases provide access to historical newspapers. The default search searches everything except the Historical Databases. These must be selected to be searched.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Index to articles in popular magazines and journals
- US Modernist Architecture Magazine Library
A browsable open digital archive of major 20th-Century American architecture publications.
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library (Library of Congress)
Constantly growing online collection of images and other historic records. Includes documentation of buildings, landscapes, cities, and more. Start with the "Collection Finder" link.
- Building Technology Heritage Library (Association for Preservation Technology International)
Online collection of period architectural trade catalogs.
- Historic American Buildings Survey, Historic American Engineering Record, and Historic American Landscapes Survey (Library of Congress)
Measured drawings, photographs, and written histories for thousands of historic structures and sites.
- Historic Pittsburgh (University of Pittsburgh)
Online collection of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Pittsburgh documents.
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
A digital library of nineteenth-century primary sources in American social history.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps on microfilm.
- Urban Planning, 1794-1918: An International Anthology of Articles, Conference Papers, and Reports (John W. Reps, Cornell University)