This is the "Start" page of the "MSCF Pittsburgh" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MSCF Pittsburgh  

Last Updated: Jan 24, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.cmu.edu/mscf Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

This guide

is aimed at all the MSCF students in Pittsburgh, and will show you how to use your library (and other) resources in your finance education and job search.  (Please provide feedback below.)

 

Books to help your job search

These books are popular - if they are checked out, you can click on "place hold" to have it recalled for you within a week or so.

MORE

For fun: a computational knowledge engine

Wolfram|Alpha generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, which includes significant financial data.  Its goal is to make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything.

Quant Finance Journals - a selected list

Here are some important journals in mathematical finance.

If you are off campus, you will need to first log in using the VPN to get access to our subscriptions.  When you've done that, enter guides.library.cmu.edu/mscf in the box at the top of the page, and you should be able to connect seamlessly. 

More places to find research on mathematical finance

These are the primary databases in mathematics and engineering, including financial aspects.  You'll find thousands of relevant research articles and reports here. To read them, click on the icon - this will either retrieve the electronic text, or connect you with Interlibrary Loan, who will get it for you.
Here's more about getting research articles at CMU.

  • MathSciNet
    For finance, use the code 91G in the "MSC Primary" box. Or just use keywords in the "Anywhere" box.
  • Engineering Village
    Conference proceedings as well as journal articles in the top information resources in the applied science, technical and engineering fields

Financial Services companies - directories and listings

(Before using databases below, you'll need to use the Connect from NY link above.  Once you do that, you can enter the URL for this guide - http://guides.library.cmu.edu/mscfny - and then you should get instant access.)

  • Hoover's
    click on "Build a List" and then open the Industry section and "browse" the NAICS codes, choosing what you're interested in. (You'll also want to limit by location, as this is international.) For just the top companies, locate a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” on left hand side. SPECIAL FEATURE: detailed company info.
  • Barclay Hedge Fund Directory
    (you will need to log in with your Andrew ID and PW.) A.pdf directory covering 2,784 international hedge funds. Also includes ranking tables grouped by hedge fund strategy.
  • Security Dealers of North America
    in Standard & Poor's database, 5000 brokerage and investment banking firms and their branches in the U.S. and Canada, description and contacts - can search by location
  • Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA) members
    international securities firms, US-registered broker-dealers and asset managers
  • Top 100 Hedge Funds
    ranked by Barron's
  • League Tables
    Thomson Reuters' "Investment Banking Scorecard" - download the desired .pdf - league tables are on p.2. (You'll need to register first - use your CMU email.)
 

Congratulations, MSCF@CMU!

 

E-book of interest

 

Books on quant finance

There are hundreds of books like these in Hunt Library (and some are e-books.)  Find them in CAMEO, the library catalog:  in the subject box, try using:
  • derivatives
  • financial engineering
  • finance - mathematical
  • stochastic
  • options (finance)
  • risk management
  • derivative securities
  • hedging (finance)
  • Monte Carlo method
  • etc.

Dictionaries and Handbooks

     

 

Let us know

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip