Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Market analysis: Frost & Sullivan database
Frost & Sullivan provides detailed analysis on all technology markets. In the search box at the top right of the screen, experiment with keywords - I used: actuator and robot - and found numerous reports, such as:
- Futuretech Alerts. Biologically Inspired Robots
- North American Pneumatic Actuators Market
Some of the reports are read-only - if you need the .pdf, I can get it for you - just email.
Industry overviews: Robotics business reports
Find companies that can be your target market, or your competitors:
manufacturers and distributors - excellent product breakdown. This links to "robotic actuators" but you can change to any other product or service.
Hoover's (Now D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new window
Includes all kinds of firms, all sizes, globally. Use "build a list", and find your industry designation (may be best to use the SIC search.) OR find a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” at the top if available.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.
top 50 robotics companies - you may have to login: username=rbrcmu and pw=carnegie1
The Robot Report directories
robotics-related businesses compiled by this online newsletter that "tracks the business of robotics".
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
Statistics: Robotics industry data
(Also see the World Robotics reports at left.)
Statista This link opens in a new window
Aggregates current and forecasted statistics on robots and robotics companies. Use other key words to search for related data.
Industry news coverage: trade publications
Below: several recent articles in the Business Source Premier database - from trade publications - on robotics and actuators. These provide news on competitors and market conditions. You can further limit the search in the side bar, or add keywords. If you need more of the same, you could also try ABI/INFORM or LexisNexis.