CMU LibGuides: Architecture: 48-706: Urban Systems: Research: Articles, eBooks &amp; More

Library Catalogs

Everything Search (CMU Libraries)
Search to find eBooks, articles, video, and more. Filter search results by resource type, date, and full-text.
Books & Media Search (CMU Libraries)
Search the library catalog to find eBooks and print books. To limit to books online, select the "eBooks only" box or filter search results by "Available online"
Journals Search
Search for journals (print or online) by title.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods.

Configure Google Scholar so you can access CMU licensed materials.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles with international coverage, books, image collection and more with a focus on the visual arts and architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text is available for select e-books and issues of many scholarly journals including Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts, humanities, religion, education, science, and technology. Search Tip: To search specific databases within this resource, select Change Databases in the header. You can also limit your search to full text and peer reviewed articles.

U.S. Census Bureau
This is the main portal to the data and statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.
Data.gov
The US government's open data portal. Provides a one-stop location for searching data from across US government agencies and branches.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Archive of social sciences data. Data primarily from survey of public opinion. NOTE: Register for a free account with your CMU email address for full access to Roper iPoll content.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.
Western Pennsylvania Regional Data Center This link opens in a new window
Open data portal of the City of Pittsburgh and Allegheny county, providing free access to regional datasets on a wide range of topics.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette This link opens in a new window
1993-present. Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. For older content, see Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Post Gazette.

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
1980-present. US news content including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and other local and regional newspapers.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. [educational use only]