When you see books titled 'Handbook of...' or 'Companion to...' from academic publishers (anything with a "University Press" or a few others, like Routledge and Blackwell), these are your friends! These types of books are written by experts and designed as starting points for college-level research. They give you scholarly sources you can cite, explain key concepts clearly, and often point you toward other good sources. Look for these titles when you need credible academic sources that won't overwhelm you.
The Routledge Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality
by
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Identity
by
Language and Identity in the Arab World
by
English in China
by
Code-Switching
by
The Cambridge Handbook of Linguistic Code-Switching
by
AI Ethics
by
Routledge Handbook of Science, Technology, and Society
by
A Companion to the Philosophy of Technology
by
Social Media and Society
by
Already have some writing or notes? Keenious is an AI tool that can analyze your text and suggest related academic sources. Great for finding sources you might miss with regular searches, but use it alongside - not instead of - our databases and catalog.
The Libraries have access to hundreds of scholarly databases full of books, journal articles, newspapers, and more, but there are a few that are good to check to get started. Need a more specialized database? Check out our subject research guides or ask a librarian.
These databases are interdisciplinary and will contain a wide range of articles. This can become overwhelming to search sometimes, so always remember you can contact a First-Year Writing Librarian for help.
Use this link to configure Google Scholar to find full-text at the CMU Libraries. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
Covers various databases from EBSCO in multiple disciplines. Most individual databases within this collection are listed alphabetically by title.
*Users with an in-library Guest/Researcher pass should use this URL to access EBSCOhost databases: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&custid=s8368349&groupid=main&profile=ehost
The majority of our books as well as our video collection and study spaces are located in Hunt Library. Books are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of Hunt Library. Check them out at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.
Sorrells Library, located on the 4th floor of Wean Hall, focuses on research support for the fields of computer science, engineering, mathematical sciences, physics and robotics. Sorrells also contains a number of reservable study spaces