CMU LibGuides: English 76-108 First-Year Writing Research Guide: Access Sources

What Happens When You Can't Get What You Need Online?

Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes our library doesn't own something you need, and it's not available via open access. In that case, our Resource Sharing unit can help you obtain it at no charge! See the Interlibrary Loan box below for details and to create your ILLiad account, which is required to place requests.

Tips for quicker access:

Articles and book chapters can be sent as PDFs, but whole books and movies can only be used physically.
If you have the Document Object Identifier (DOI) of an article or book chapter, the ISBN of a book, or the ISSN of a journal, processing time for requests can be reduced.
Use the DOI in ILLiad to autofill the form for you.
Use E-ZBorrow to access print items more quickly and for longer periods of time. Turnaround is typically 3-5 business days.
You can also ask the CMU Libraries to get a copy of a book or movie for the library.
Look up a book or article in the CMU Libraries Catalog and select Expand Results Beyond CMU Libraries. You can then auto-request an item without filling in all the information yourself.

ILLiad (interlibrary loan)
Request books, articles, theses and more! This is the place to go to request a PDF of an article or book chapter, or for a print book or film. First time users will be asked to register before requesting items.
E-ZBorrow
Search a consortium of 60+ academic libraries for physical items (e.g, print books or DVDs) not available at CMU. Requested items typically take 3-5 business days to arrive and are loaned for a maximum of 12 weeks.

Other Nearby Libraries

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP)
The public library of the city of Pittsburgh, with a main branch in Oakland, as well as many other branches. Get a library card by going to CLP and showing proof of Allegheny County residence, or fill out an Online Library Card Application. You can easily walk to the Oakland branch in about 10 minutes or less
University of Pittsburgh
Get a special patron borrowing card at the Hillman Library Circualtion Desk. You can then go borrow books from some of their libraries. See details on Special Borrower Card. Information on the University of Pittsburgh's Libraries.

How to Access CMU Libraries from Off-Campus

To use databases, ebooks, and access articles from off-campus, use any link from the library Catalog or from our databases A to Z page. Links on the CMU Libraries Research Guides also will prompt for AndrewID before letting you access the resource.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages.

Getting Started with LibKey Nomad

Go to the Download LibKey Nomad website.
Click on the icon for your browser of choice and follow the prompts to add the extension.
Choose Carnegie Mellon University as your institution.

example of a journal page with the LibKey Nomad Access pop-up at the bottom

Having trouble accessing an e-resource from off-campus?

Report a Problem
Having an issue accessing an electronic item? Fill out this form and our eresources team will take a look.
CMU Electronic Resources Overview
This research guide provides detailed access to our electronic resources, as well as troubleshooting eresource issues and status updates

Streaming Videos

While Libraries don't have access to Netflix and similar personal streaming services, we do have a large collection of streaming videos. Look at our list of streaming media databases for documentaries, foreign-language and independent films, newsreels and historic videos, streaming music, as well as some major motion pictures.

CMU Libraries Streaming Resources