Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To assess the market for AGV's, you will do primary research (interviews, surveys) and secondary research (reports, statistics, articles.) This guide will help you do the secondary research.
General search tip: consider the vocabulary
Various terms are used for this product - try them all!
- Automated Guided Vehicle or Automatic Guided Vehicle (AGV)
- Autonomous Ground Vehicle or Unmanned Ground Vehicle (UGV - seem to be more military applications)
- Self Guided Vehicle (SGV)
- Laser Guided Vehicles (LGV) and Automated Guided Carts (AGC) (from article in Wikipedia - good summary)
- Possibly also: driverless cars, "material handling equipment" or “robotic industrial trucks” used for logistics
AGV Industry overviews
Savant Automation provides a good background on AGV's - see "Basics" and FAQs
IBISWorld report on Automated Guided Vehicle Manufacturing Industry in the US. (You may have to search for the report by name within the database. Focus on US only.)
World Service Robots annual report (latest we have is 2014) has much data on AGVs throughout. (Use Ctrl-F and enter AGV to find them.)
The Robotics Business Review (log in first with username: rbrcmu and pw: carnegie1) has excellent coverage of all business aspects of robotics - search for "AGV" or related terms (see vocabulary box on this page) and also companies by name, i.e. Seegrid. See especially AGV references in their report "Robotics and the New Supply Chain 2015-2020."
Frost & Sullivan's report "The Future of Mobile Robots" defines a UGV as: "A land-based vehicle that operate without any human intervention and perform tasks that are considered to be inconvenient, manual, dangerous, or impossible for humans. It can be used for both military and civilian purposes, and can work independently through mobile platforms and sensors for navigation.” Uses: Warehouse, Factory, Airport, Seaport, Defense. To retrieve this report, search in this database for "future of mobile robots" in quotes, select the "mega trends" report, and then search within the report for UGV, and also AGV for similar coverage.
BCC Research's "Drone Technology and Global Markets" (see chapter 4, "Drone Market by Type") covers these also as UGV's and sizes the global market – uses include: Defense, Logistics & Warehousing, Healthcare, Field Operations, and Entertainment. To retrieve this report, search in this database for the "drone technology and global markets" in quotes, select the report, and click on chapter 4.
AGV technology coverage
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Finds articles in the scientific literature on technological developments. Search for "automatic guided vehicles" (in quotes) or other keywords. You may want to also limit by date - on the left side.
AGV Industry news coverage: trade publications
Below: recent articles in the Business Source Premier database - from trade publications - on the topic "automated guided vehicle systems." These provide news on competitors and market conditions. You can further limit the search in the side bar, or change keywords. If you need more of the same, you could also try ABI/INFORM or LexisNexis.
manufacturers and distributors in US and Canada. This links to "automatic/automated guided vehicle systems" but you can find more with similar search terms - see box on this page: "consider the vocabulary
Robotics Business Review listings
Use search box for AGV and other terms to find which robotics companies are in this industry.
You will have to login: username=rbrcmu and pw=carnegie1
World Service Robotics listings
See sections on "Major Producers" on p.79 and p.82
AGV market research report listings
See "Companies Mentioned" tab for top firms in the industry. See "Description" and "Table of Contents" for other valuable clues.