CMU LibGuides: English Department: Databases & Articles

Indexes to the Scholarly Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to critical research of language, literature, and folklore for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works. Provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world. Content types include: primary texts, criticism, reference works, full text journals, audio and video, eBooks, and dissertations. Database Guide
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index to arts and humanities journals searchable by subject or cited reference.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Cross search Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography for biographical and critical information on authors and their works.
Annual bibliography of English language and literature: ABELL This link opens in a new window
Part of ProQuest One Literature, includes listings of articles, books, reviews, etc., on British, American, and Commonwealth literature; selective full-text. Covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.