The library offers access to a number of commercial products that aim to facilitate the discovery and use of data from public and private sources.
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Includes tons of datasets for business, industry, labor, energy, population, income, health, politics, and more.
Features data series created from more than 50,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.
The Military Balance+ is the online defense database from The International Institute for Strategic Studies, that allows researchers and users to plan, analyze and enable delivery of policy and commercial objectives for the private sector, governments, armed forces and media. The database includes equipment data, defense budget data, defense procurement data, military deployment data and policy and capability analysis. To request a live demo or tutorial, please contact Sarah Young, sarahy@andrew.cmu.edu.
The Center for Behavioral and Decision Research sponsors a university membership to CARMA (the Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis). CARMA provides webinars from leading industry methodologists in the social and organizational sciences.
To access their content, go to carmattu.com and create a free account using your andrew.cmu email address.
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
Microdata are data for which the statistical units are individual people or objects. These data have not yet been aggregated into statistics about groups, and thus can be downloaded, manipulated, used in statistical models, etc. Below are a few sources for large population and economic microdata sets.
