Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern University Library IGO list
For a comprehensive list of intergovernmental organizations throughout the world, see this guide maintained by the Northwestern University Library.
International organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
The website of the World Bank, an international financial organization that provides loans and develops and administers financial programs. Also collects and provide data via their Open Data portal.
World Health Organization
The leading governing body for global health matters. Part of the United Nations, WHO provides research, statistics and policy recommendations on health around the world.
International Monetary Fund
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world." Website includes access to IMF research and data.
Think Tanks and News Organizations
PoliticoPro is a leading source of timely policy news and analysis. It covers 15 overarching industry areas including Agriculture, Budget and Appropriations, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, eHealth, Employment & Immigration, Energy, Financial Services, Health Care, Tax, Technology, Trade and Transportation. Features include:
- Morning Newsletters on each of the above industry sector homepages that give those interested in specific areas a daily look-ahead as to the key areas driving the day in these sectors. Newsletters are housed on each policy areas homepage. Go to the PoliticoPro Newsletter page to sign up for email alerts.
- Whiteboard news alerts on each policy sector’s homepage that provide a chronological timeline of recent policy news as well as long-form.
- Documents with an intuitive search feature to find relevant and timely primary sources, including Dear Colleague letters, CBO and Congressional Research Service Reports, etc..
- The Calendar provides up to date information about policy events in Washington including Hill hearings, think tanks events
World Politics Review
World Politics Review provides analysis of critical global trends for policymakers, analysts, academics and readers with an interest in international affairs. Written by a network of experts and on-the-ground influencers, WPR content provides comprehensive and detailed perspectives on a wide diversity of issues including defense and security, diplomacy, economics and more.
Users can create free personal accounts allowing them to set up email news alerts, and receive newsletters and updates for different geographical regions or content authors.
The WPR content is also fully searchable via the library’s EBSCOhost platform, allowing advanced searching of the article metadata and content.
Finding the News
To access individual newspapers or find articles that you come across online, go to the library homepage and click on the Journals link above the main search box. From there, search for the title of the newspaper. We have current access to most major newspapers through a variety of platforms. For direct links to common newspapers, see the list below. For a more in-depth guide to find news, including historical and international, see the Newspapers Research Guide.
New York Times Digital Access via Academic Pass
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address. Access lasts until the graduation date the student enters when registering, 1 year for faculty and staff (renewable). Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones)
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform
. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address
. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here
, and Wall Street Journal Online
articles are here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here
. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal
in the Publication Browse
to see options.
Access World News (NewsBank)
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.
Link to current content of The Economist via the ProQuest platform.
Current access to Barron's Financial Investment news content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Financial news and commentary from the City (London.)
Link to current Washington Post content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Current access to the Philadelphia Inquirer via ProQuest Newsstand.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Digital Edition
Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. Our access to the digital edition includes the last 30 current issues/days. Most recent issues appear first. Select "Menu" in the upper left and then "Show/Hide Editions List" to get to older issues.
News media, commentary and analysis
Provides access to a suite oftools and resources including editorial coverage on policy and politics. Resources in this platform include timely analysis and information on political campaigns, elections, legislation, and committee hearings; a calendar of daily events on and off Capitol Hill; a congressional and federal staff directory; access to live webinars by policy and election experts; and more. If you'd like to set up a personal account to enable daily e-newsletters and other features, contact Sarah Young at the Hunt Library, firstname.lastname@example.org.
Politico is an American political-journalism company based in Arlington County, Virginia, that covers politics and policy in the United States. POLITICOPro provides news coverage and analysis for multiple policy areas including: finance, energy, health care, technology, and transportation, and recently announced the addition of education, agriculture, and trade coverage to meet subscriber demand.
An online content platform providing commentary on topics of current significance related to policy, current events, democracy, international relations, economics and more. It is written for a global audience by prominent political leaders policymakers, scholars, business leaders and civil activists from around the world. You can register for a free personal account to receive newsletters, bookmark articles and follow specific authors.
World Politics Review
Provides analysis of critical global trends for policymakers, analysts, academics and readers with an interest in international affairs. Written by a network of experts and on-the-ground influencers, WPR content provides comprehensive and detailed perspectives on a wide diversity of issues including defense and security, diplomacy, economics and more.