Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Schedule a one-on-one consultation with Dr. Melanie Gainey (email@example.com), the librarian liaison for Biological Sciences and Biomedical Engineering, for in-depth help with literature searches, databases, citation management, and creating a research plan for assignments.
Useful Databases for this Class
PubMed is the most comprehensive source to find scholarly journal articles in biology, health, and medicine. It is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains millions of citations and is updated daily with newly published research.
Google Scholar is a freely available search engine to find scholarly literature in all fields and disciplines. It lacks the many built-in filtering capabilities of subject-specific databases, like PubMed, but can be a useful place to start your research when you are trying to narrow your research topic or to search broadly across many subject areas.
BBC Research includes market research reports for industries, specializing in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies - but with traditional industries as well. NOTE: When off-campus, use VPN access (instructions in Connecting to Electronic Library Resources From Off-Campus link in the Box above)
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
About this Guide
This guide provides some links and brief videos to show you how to find reliable information sources, navigate databases such as PubMed and Google Scholar, and manage your research with the citation manager, Mendeley. This guide will help you do research more efficiently, which will save you a lot of time in this class and others! In the tabs in this guide, you will find information to help you:
Useful Journals for This Class