Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Languages: 82283 - Language Diversity & Cultural Identity: GETTING THE BIG PICTURE:

In this guide, you will explore and compare a variety of information sources related to language diversity and cultural identity in the US and globally. The main focus of this guide is to help you complete the necessary components of your final project (

Contact Information:

Ethan Pullman's picture
Ethan Pullman

Ask A Librarian       

Contact:
109B Hunt Library
Frew Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
=================
Primary Subjects: English, Modern Languages, Philosophy
----------------------------
Other Subjects: Ethnic & Gender Studies
================
412 268 5018
Website Skype Contact: live:pethan_23
Subjects:Film Studies

CORE ONLINE REFERENCE:

Library Scavenger Hunt

START HERE:

Language & Culture

Before you begin to talk about language diversity & culture, you need to understand the big picture. 

You need to ask the following questions:
 
  1. Where? Think demographics: Local (a dialect, perhaps)? US? (A specific language spoken in the U.S.) International (similarly what country or region)?  
  2. When? Are we talking about a modern dialect or use?  a certain period?
  3. How?  Is this a verbal or non-verbal language?  Is it limited to technical communication, oral, written?
  4. Who?  Is this concerning a specific population?  what describes this population?
  5. What?  name aspects you wish to study?  relationships?
  6. Why? Is there a gap in research, impact on other systems such as communication, social or economic, political, etc. 

Why go through all the trouble?  Well, most importantly, so you have helpful search terms to use in the search indices like the library catalog, databases, Google Scholar™, and even google™!
The best sources for the big picture are encyclopedias, or handbooks.  Here's how you can find them in our library:
 
Use the Advanced Search to search our catalog!  Here are some sample searches for our library catalog*
[in Subject]  "contains" [Language] AND [in Subject "contains" Culture] AND [in Title] "contains" encyclopedia
[in Subject]  "contains" [Communication] AND [in Subject "contains" Culture] AND [in Title] "contains" encyclopedia
or even a specific language; for example, Chinese:
[in Subject]  "contains" [Chinese] AND [in Subject "contains" Culture] AND [in Title] "contains" encyclopedia

TIPS:
  • Keep in mind that you may have to filter the results by Resource type: article, books, etc.
  • Make sure to look for words used in the subject area for each record or on suggested on the left by the database.  These will give you the chance to quickly browse as you do on a bookshelf.

DID I GET IT?

ACTIVITY I:  The Big Picture - Did I get it?

Use the techniques described here to find sources that can provide background for your topic.  Go to the Activity.

Feedback

I strive to improve the information and my teaching.  Please provide feedback on the session using this form.