CMU LibGuides: Psychology : 85-715: Graduate Research Methods in Psychology: Databases

Databases for Psychology

Below are the databases most likely to be of help with research in Psychology. See the Databases, eResources, & Tools list for a complete list. Most databases will provide full text or have a GET IT link with retrieval options. See If We Don't Have What You Need for additional information.

CogPrints
Free open access collection of self-archived papers in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and many areas of computer science
From the Website:

Welcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (Department of Education) This link opens in a new window
Central resource for articles and documents on all aspects of education. Free database often with full text.

Google Scholar
Great interdisciplinary scholarly journal source. Links to CMU holdings.

MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
Brain and cognitive science books and journals from MIT.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
1894-present.The full text of nearly 80 journals from the American Psychological Association as well as its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window
1956-2017. Produced by the American Psychological Association, full text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.

Pubget
Tool for searching Medline and getting pdfs available on open Web or through CMU

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.

Useful Resource for Accessing Articles

The LibKey Nomad browser extension provides one-click access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web and in databases. Find information on how to install here.