CMU LibGuides: Heinz College: 90-774 Public Expenditure Analysis: Government Information

Other useful research guides

Government Documents (United States)
This thorough guide provides information about how to find government documents at the federal, state and regional levels.
Federal Policy Resources
This guide provides resources for finding federal-level policy documents, think-tank reports, statistics, public opinion data and more.
Policy Analysis
This guide provide resources for conducting and writing policy analysis and links to guides for state, federal and local level research.

Other government resources

Internal Revenue Service
The website of the United States' tax collection agency which administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress.
Office of Management and Budget
"OMB’s mission is to assist the President in meeting his policy, budget, management and regulatory objectives and to fulfill the agency’s statutory responsibilities."
Internal Revenue Code
The IRS provide this website to explore and search the full Internal Revenue Code (via the Legal Information Institute website), as well as other government tax information.

Government Documents

Congress.gov
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information." It replaces the long-standing thomas.gov for legislative information.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional materials ca. 1789-present. Full text of hearings, Senate and House documents, the U.S. Serial Set (a collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress), legislative histories, committee prints, etc. Database Guide
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal research database, with numerous libraries covering congressional publications, law publications, treaties, etc.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Access over 130,000+ city publications from the five hundred largest cities in North America. Documents include budgets, surveys, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, and annual reports. This resource also includes documents from municipal and regional organizations and agencies and other agencies with coverage mostly from 2000-present.

CCH OmniTax

The CCH (Commerce Clearing House) OmniTax Library is provided for CMU students, faculty and staff via the IntelliConnect and the new AnswerConnect platforms. This resource provides a portal to a wealth of federal and state (and some international) tax information including case law, codes and statues, tax forms, federal publications and news.

Statistical and Data Resources

Data.gov
The US government's open data portal. Provides a one-stop location for searching data from across US government agencies and branches.
Census Bureau Homepage
The US Census Bureau's Homepage where you can find lots of information about the census and related topics
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
national, international, regional, and industry accounts measures, such as GDP, government expenditures, balance of payments, etc.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is a database maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It contains thousands of economic time series and covers topics including banking, consumer price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates and much more. It includes some international information.