CMU LibGuides: CMU-Qatar Library: Print & Online Resources: Video Streaming

Video Streaming

Full length feature films, documentaries, and educational videos are available for personal or classroom viewing through streaming databases.

If you have trouble accessing these titles, connect to CMU PGH - Full VPN on your Cisco Secure Client. Please contact us at qatar@cmu.libanswers.com for assistance if you are still unable to play a video.

A Selection of Film and Video Databases

Academic Video Online
Streaming video content on the Alexander Street platform offering 84,000+ titles in a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Titles are also indexed in the ProQuest Academic Video Online (AVON) database.

Special Features:

Sony Picture Classics catalog
The BBC Landmark Video Collection
PBS Documentaries

Kanopy Streaming Service
An on-demand streaming video service which provides access to educational titles, including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases - on a very wide range of topics. Kanopy titles are licensed from such major educational producers and distributors as PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection,and the Media Education Foundation.

Special Features:

Essential Campus Collection
Business Case Studies
World Cinema
Classic Hollywood
Criterion Collection

Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with a legal streaming alternative for both on and off-campus. We have access to over a hundred handpicked titles.

Special Features:

Hollywood blockbusters
Animated films

LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning provides thousands of training videos and tutorials covering web languages, online technologies, website best practices and more. Carnegie Mellon University students, faculty and staff members have unlimited access to the entire library.

Special Features:

Get professional development course suggestions based on your job title and description.
Opt to receive a certificate after course completion (with an additional fee).
Subjects now include business administration, finance, productivity, and creative skills.

Underline
Underline is a platform that hosts scholarly conferences in streaming video format. The platform features a library of over 25K presentations (keynotes, panels, posters, etc.) from top scientific and medical conferences. Researchers are able to cite their work and include the videos in course syllabi and use the database as another source for reputable content when conducting research. Each video includes a DOI and transcripts and their platform meets WCAG 2.1AA standards.

Special Features:

Underline Originals master classes from

Miroslav Radman (genetics)
Roberts & Krainer (genetics)
Hiroshi Ishiguro (robotics)