A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Expert introductions to major topics in business, management, finance, economics, and philosophy
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.
Helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Basic source for research methods in all fields.
This is a primary source-centric database that covers American history from the 19th century through the early 20th century. Search for newspapers, eyewitness accounts, and more for events such as the Civil War, women's suffrage, and the abolitionist movement. It also contains a collection of African American newspapers from 1827-1909
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide.
Medieval manuscripts of travelers' accounts between the 13th and 16th centuries.
iPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.
Thousands of original materials related to slavery, abolition, and social justice ranging from 1490-2007.
Women's travel accounts of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Provides full color images of the original medieval manuscripts of five 15th century families.
All known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery, as well as every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere
There are many sources for texts available to you. Some require Carnegie Mellon University Andrew IDs; others are free. Regardless, the method by which you may access (or mine) the text or data will vary. Below is a guide that lists the resources available to you. Please contact me for information on how to best mine texts from specific sources.
