Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
20th Century Newspapers - United States
Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Full text: 1841-1964. Published as a daily newspaper for 114 consecutive years without missing a single edition. Originally conceived as a temporary political forum for the 1842 election, outlived & absorbed all other Brooklyn daily papers except the Brooklyn Citizen. At one point the Eagle actually became the nation's most widely read afternoon newspaper. Unusual for major city daily newspapers of that time period, the Eagle chronicled national & intern'l affairs as well as local & daily life.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican (1890 - 2007)
Arose in 1890 to ultimately become the state’s largest newspaper. Fighting for business, publishers of the area’s early papers often dueled for readership with colorful, sometimes combative language and sensationalized stories. It was instrumental in the campaign for
Arizona statehood, which was achieved in 1912.
Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984)
Provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Historical Newspapers: Austin American Statesman (1871 - 1978)
Leading newspaper in the capital of Texas, the historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992)
Founded by Arunah Shepherdson Abell as a paper devoted to the news that most directly affected the lives of its readers, The Baltimore Sun’s history is among the most distinguished in American journalism. It represented this bustling port city by reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, Washington D.C. politics
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849 - current minus 24 years)
Major U. S. newspaper, known for investigative and public service journalism.
Historical Newspapers: Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009)
When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city – the nation’s 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as “The Queen of the West.” A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave this paper a unique perspective to report on
international, national and regional news.
Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999)
The leading newspaper in the region. The newspaper rose to prominence as Detroit became a major trading post and industrial hub.
Historical Newspapers: Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004)
The largest paper in Indiana, and a staunch watchdog and advocate for its community.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 - current minus 24 years)
Coverage of the development of the Southern California and American West as well as national news. For recent issues, Dec. 4, 1996-present, go here
. For fully searchable full page images, 2008 - present (with a 3-month embargo), go here
. For additional editions, blogs, etc., search lost angeles times
Historical Newspapers: Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000)
Award-winning in-depth coverage of the pivotal people and events who shaped the local region, and made an impact on the rest of the world. In the early decades of the 20th century, the Courier-Journal became a forum for conflict when it was purchased by liberal Robert Worth Bingham whose views clashed with the longtime conservative editor, Henry Watterson. The paper went on to become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia.
Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001)
Early issues document the rise of Minneapolis as a business hub, with coverage of growth in flour- and graining-milling industries, culminating in the foundation of General Mills, Pillsbury and the Washburn-Crosby Company. Related stories trace the railroad boom of the late 1800s, the debut of the first hydroelectric power plant in 1882, and the advent of worker protection laws resulting from the Teamsters strike of 1934.
Historical Newspapers: Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002)
Provides unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. This diverse, easily-accessible primary source material is an invaluable tool for effective research by users in almost any field.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851 - ca. current minus 3 years)
Historical access to major U.S. newspaper, often considered the "newspaper of record." For current issues, 1980-present, use this
. Fully searchable digital images of issues from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are available here
Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2001
One of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, the Philadelphia Inquirer is known for its coverage of the American Civil War, its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allan Poe, and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. Important Note: This database is currently under construction. Some dates and full text may not be available. Forthcoming in 2017 the database will cover 1829-2009.
Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874 - 2003)
Noted for its investigative reporting and human interest stories. Created by Joseph Pulitzer of two pre-existing newspapers, the Post-Dispatch is the only St. Louis newspaper still in print.
Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1890 - current minus 17 years)
Historical full text of U. S. business newspaper. For current issues, 1984-present, go here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo). are here
20th Century Newspapers - African American
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 1988)
Through the decades, the newspaper fought for equal employment rights, urged African-Americanparticipation in politics, and advocated state-funded higher education for blacks. In the 1930s, The AfroAmerican launched “The Clean Block” campaign, which is still in existence today, to clean up inner-city neighborhoods and fight crime. It stationed correspondents in Europe and the Pacific during World War II, providing first-hand reports to readers.
Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 1991)
Editor William O. Walker used his newspaper to rally the masses in support of equal rights, much as civil rights leaders would decades later. Through his newspaper, Walker also promoted participation in politics, urged the establishment of legal aid societies by the African-American community, and encouraged black solidarity and self-reliance.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975)
One of the leading and most influential newspapers of the African American community, with about two thirds of its readership outside the Windy City. With an estimated readership of about 500,000, the newspaper was a major voice in African American history. Read more about the Chicago Defender
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005)
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.
Historical Newspapers: Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003)
The only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time. Note: No issues ca. 1918-1921.
Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
"Once the country's most widely circulated black newspaper with a national circulation of almost 200,000." Read more about the Pittsburgh Courier
. Note: Issues from 1913-1922 are not available.
20th Century Newspapers - European
Historical Newspapers: Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003)
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Historical Newspapers: Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016)
Two major Irish newspapers who have earned international acclaim for their independent reporting.
Historical Newspapers: Scotsman (1817 - 1950)
When it was founded in 1817, The Scotsman was so radical that it was considered “incendiary.” Today, it continues to provide an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Search and display the full text of the Times (London), a major English language European newspaper
20th Century Newspapers - Pittsburgh
Google Newspaper Archive
issues of old newspapers. Google has since abandoned this project of digitizing old newspapers, but the ones done are still available, including many from Pittsburgh covering different time periods.
Duquesne University has continuously microfilmed the Pittsburgh Catholic since its inception in 1844. To convert the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital format, Gumberg Library started with volume 1 issue 1 and will continue to digitize the newspaper from the oldest volumes to the newest volumes. Currently, the first 113 years covering from March 16, 1844 through March 7, 1957 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
1895-present. Full text newspapers: The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).