Looking for Articles? - Modern Languages: 82215 - Arab Culture through Film & Literature - CMU LibGuides at Carnegie Mellon University

Where to look ...

The following is a list of general databases that you should check out:

Search tips:

Always use the advanced search.
Combine general terms with specific keywords
If you get too many results, use the filters offered by the database (date, subject, relevant, etc.)
Think of as many synonyms (or use the database thesaurus)

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to critical research of language, literature, and folklore for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.

The following are good sources for searching audiovisual materials that can be used as a primary source or as a point of discussion:

Academic Video Online (Avon) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Database Guide. Titles are also available in the Alexander Street Academic Video Online platform.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Provides remote access to over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects: arts, business, global studies, health, sciences, technical training, etc. Please read these changes to the Kanopy Streaming Service. For questions, contact Kim Dolan.