Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ROAR: Repairing Our Archival Record

Information on ROAR (Repairing Our Archival Record) the University Archives's community archives initiative

FAQ

1. What if I don't want to physically part with my records?

That's okay! If you're not ready to transfer your records to the University Archive there are still opportunities for us to work together to preserve your history. You can also digitize your records and donate their digital versions to the archive.

2. Can I ever get my materials back?

Once the deed of gift is signed, the ownership of the records is transferred to the University Archive so you won't be able to take them back. You can visit your records in the Archive's reading room by making an appointment with an Archivist. If you're not ready to part with your physical records, digitizing your materials and donating their digital files is another way of contributing to the archive.

3. Why should I donate materials?

Your CMU experience matters. Donating your records to the University Archives will ensure that your community's history is preserved and accessible to future members of your organization's community. 

4. How can I trust that my donated records are cared for in a way that is respectful to my community?

If you are considering donating your records and have concerns about how your records are going to be preserved or how your community will be represented, schedule an appointment with the Processing Archivist for Community Collections. We are committed to preserving a collection which is reflective of the diverse experiences at CMU. Working closely with an Archivist as you transfer your records can help us make sure that your records are described and handled in ways which are respectful to your community.

5. What happens if we don't end up needing everything in your donation?

That depends on you. We can return materials not added to the archive or dispose of them. We will go over your preference when you transfer the donation.