Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ROAR: Repairing Our Archival Record

Information on ROAR (Repairing Our Archival Record) the University Archives's community archives initiative

Collections being processed

Gloria Hill papers

Gloria Hill who served as the director of the Carnegie-Mellon Action Project (C-MAP) between 1984 and 2004, the assistant vice provost for education and liaison between CMU in Pittsburgh and the campus in Doha, Qatar from 2004 to 2008, and as the assistant dean of the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences and director of the Academic Advisory Center (AAC) from 2008 to 2015. Hill retired from CMU in 2015, after 35 years of service to the CMU community.

The Gloria Hill papers will be available to researchers by the end of the Spring 2023 semester.


Sanford Friedman papers


Sanford Friedman (1928-2010)  was a novelist and playwright whose writing often featured LGBTQ themes. His 1965 novel “Totempole” is believed to be the first instance of a Jewish and Gay protagonist in American fiction. Friedman graduated from the College of Fine Arts in 1949. While “Totempole'' is a work of fiction, much of it is based on Friedman’s life, including his time as a student at CMU.

This collection is in queue for processing and will be available to researchers by the Fall of 2023.

CMAP/CMARC

We're in the early stages of planning a project to document a history of CMAP/CMARC. Were you a student or staff member involved with CMAP, CMARC, or any of it's affiliated programs (SAMS, ORIGINS, UPWARDBOUND)? We'd love to chat!

Out at CMU

Out at CMU is a community archives project to document the history of LGBTQ+ life at CMU. Working with the Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion, and PRISM, the University Archives will be "processing" a collection of historic materials that have been collected through the years by students involved with SOHO. The project is in its early stages but we're looking for current and former staff, faculty, alumni, and students who are interested in helping with identifying, organizing, and describing materials. We're also looking to build to the collection, if you have materials you would like to share or donate to the Archives please let us know!