The Digital Public Library of America is a free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Materials in the collection include photographs, books, maps, sound and video recordings, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents.
DPLA can be searched by time or place, browsed through a virtual bookshelf or by curated exhibits, and also is a platform to be built upon through apps and widgets.
Millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year. We provide access to 77 titles (aka collections) within this resource.
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting.
Under "Refine your results" you can choose an option to browse collections containing "Sound recordings" -- this will limit your results. you can also search within "Sound recordings" for "radio" to look at those specific results.
Comprehensive collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of the western Pennsylvania area. Includes: texts, maps, images, archival finding aids, census records, chronology, videos.
A useful page organized alphabetically by first letter of the keywords applied ("Orson Wells" under "O"; "Jimmy Durante" under "J", etc.). Some of the keywords may be decades ("1950's") and can be viewed that way too.
The Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives was created in 1984 to collect, conserve and promote the use of architectural records that document the architects and architecture of Pittsburgh and the tri-state region of western Pennsylvania, eastern Ohio and northern West Virginia. The collections have grown to include thousands of drawings and blueprints, extensive files of manuscripts and photographs, and a number of architectural models -- records that document the work of hundreds of designers. These records have been gifts from architects and firms, architects' families, property owners and governments.
The Posner Memorial Collection includes more than 1,000 volumes of great books that document ideas that have shaped the world. Starting with literature and decorative books arts, Henry Posner Sr. collected from 1924 to 1973. After 1950, he focused on the history of science. Mr. and Mrs. Posner also collected small objets d’art in glass, ivory, jade and other minerals from Asia and Europe.
The University Archives is home to more than 100 years of CMU's history. Its mission to is document, preserve, and provide access to records documenting life at CMU and the contributions of its students and faculty. Examples of Archives material include academic department records, student organization records, faculty and alumni papers, and publications like the Tartan, the Thistle, and the Faculty Bulletin.
