History: 79-200: Introduction to Historical Research & Writing: Cities and Scandals and Crime

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is one of the most extensive and complete archives of television news anywhere in the world. We have been recording, preserving, and providing access to television news broadcasts of the U.S. national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes daily evening news programs from ABC, CBS, and NBC along with CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

The Associated Press (AP) Images Collection™ captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life through photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text.

The Digital Public Library of America is a free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Materials in the collection include photographs, books, maps, sound and video recordings, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents.

This historical map collection has over 75,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.

Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers. These maps are for non-commercial use only, and may not be downloaded, clipped, printed, resold, retained or used for commercial or business research purposes, including but not limited to environmental, property or other land use evaluations. Digital Sanborn Maps are reproduced and distributed under license from Environmental Data Resources, Inc. For information on how to obtain maps for commercial and business research purposes, go to www.edrnet.com/sanborn.