CMU LibGuides: Electrical &amp; Computer Engineering: Finding Books

General Guide to Finding Related Books at Carnegie Mellon

Search Carnegie Mellon's online catalog and other library catalogs to identify useful books on your topic. Carnegie Mellon's online catalog will let you easily locate books held in our libraries. Books not held by our library can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan. A really thorough database of books is called "WorldCat" (look under "State, National and International Catalogs).

Remember that searching a library catalog is different than searching in databases that contain journal articles or conference papers. To get better results, it may be necessary to search under a broader keyword than your specific topic. When you enter a keyword in the catalog to look for books, your search is executed on basic pieces of information like the author, title, editor, publisher and subject headings. The book's title and its assigned subject headings assigned in catalog records are often much broader than your topic. Perhaps your topic is only covered in a chapter or grouping of chapters. So keep this in mind and adjust as necessary. You can always ask a librarian for help.

The Roger Sorrells Engineering & Science Library has now shifted entirely to the Library of Congress Classification System. Here are the Library of Congress classification numbers for selected computer engineering and electrical engineering topics:

TK	Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
TK452-454.4	Electric apparatus and materials. Electric circuits. Electric networks
TK1001-1841	Production of electric energy or power. Powerplants. Central stations
TK2000-2891	Dynamoelectric machinery and auxiliaries Including generators, motors, transformers
TK2896-2985	Production of electricity by direct energy conversion
TK5101-6720	Telecommunication. Including telegraphy, telephone, radio, radar, television
TK7885-7895	Computer engineering. Computer hardware
TK8300-8360	Photoelectronic devices (General)
TK9001-9401	Nuclear engineering. Atomic power

Selected e-Books

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessScience This link opens in a new window

Computer Graphics Companion
Digital Signal Processing
Electrical Engineering Handbook
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Encyclopedia of Software Engineering
Focal Dictionary of Telecommunications
FreeBookCentre.net
Free Tech Books
An open access site where authors post their works, covering topics ranging from all forms of programming, operating systems, graphics and image processing.
Handbook of Applied Cryptography
Handbook of Nanotechnology
Addresses electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists and chemists who work either in the nano area or in a field that is or will be influenced by this new key technology (from Knovel).
IBM Redbooks
IBM's Redbooks provide guidance, installation and implementation experiences, solution scenarios, and "how-to" guides. They are listed by date and are searchable by keyword.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Full text interactive reference books and information resources from some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. New to Knovel? View this video!
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
All backfiles-Present (updating varies). Springer book series reporting the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education.
Lecture Notes in Control and Information Sciences This link opens in a new window
All backfiles-Present (updating varies). Springer book series reporting the latest results from all areas of control and information science research, development, and education.
Lecture Notes in Mathematics This link opens in a new window
All backfiles-Present (updating varies). Springer book series reporting the latest results from all areas of mathematics research, development, and education.
Lecture Notes in Physics This link opens in a new window
All backfiles-Present (updating varies). Springer book series reporting the latest results from all areas of physics research, development, and education.

National Academies Press
Access to full-text of books and reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Research Council.
Newnes Dictionary of Electronics

NIST Computer Security Resource Center This link opens in a new window

Numerical Recipes Site
Online Books Page
This site provides access to free online books in electrical and computer engineering. You can also search and browse by title and author.
O'Reilly Open Books Project
This project has been developed by O'Reilly Media. The site contains open access books of interest to the ECE community.

Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
These e-books that synthesize important research or development topics, authored by an expert contributor to the field. They provide more analysis and depth than the typical research journal article. Organized by series, managed by a prominent consulting editor who guides lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review.

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
One of the most comprehensive general scientific references available. Topics include computer science, information science, mathematics, physics, power technology, and a host of other subjects.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering