Articles - English: Program - Professional/Science and Technical Writing - CMU LibGuides at Carnegie Mellon University

Core Databases

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here, you'll find a list of major databases that contain full-text and/or citations for a variety of journals relevant to Professional/Scientific and Technical Writing:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles and has extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
has full-text access (with a search interface) to important academic journals, including 80 language and literature journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
provides 100% full-text access to university press journals and over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines; also industry reports.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Finding More Journals

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here are some major titles relevant to creative writing:

Journal of Business Communication (Print, available at Hunt, shelved by title, 3rd floor)
Online Journalism Review
Technical Communication Quarterly (abstracts only)

Kairos: A Journal For Teachers of Writing in Webbed Environments

If you know the title of the journal, then you can search to see if it is available online and if the article is also available. Online journals vary in availability, so be sure to check listed dates.

In addition, you can get a list of e-journals by catagory. The two most relevant categories are Arts and Humanities, and Telecommunications and Technology).

Begin here:

English: Program - Professional/Science and Technical Writing: Articles

Core Databases

Finding More Journals