Costume Surveys
Anderson, Barbara and Anderson, Cletus. Costume Design. Harcourt Brace College Publishers, 2nd edition, 1999.HUNT FA-REF-4 TT507 .A66 1999 (Earlier editions are in the circulating stacks in Hunt Library)
Anawalt, Patricia Reiff. The Worldwide History of Dress. New York, NY: Thames and Hudson, 2007.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT511 .A53 2007
www.bloomsburyfashioncentral.com
Integrated cross-cultural text and image content throughout history. Includes The Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, articles, e-books, essays and more. Updated periodically.
Boucher, Francois Leon Louis. 20,000 Years of Fashion: The History of Costume and Personal Adornment. New York, N.Y.: H.N. Abrams, 1987
HUNTFA-REF-4 GT510 .B6713 1987
Davenport, Millia. The Book of Costume. New York: Crown Publishers, 1948.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT513 .D38 2 Vols.
Fashions of a Decade
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT596 .F374 1991
Series of thin all-illustrated volumes published by Facts-on-File covering 1920 through 1990.
Ribeiro, Aileen. The Visual History of Costume. London: Batsford, 1989.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT733 .V57 1989
Jowers, Sidney and John Cavanagh. Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs : a Bibliography and Iconography London ; New York : Routledge ; Romsey : Motley Press, 2000.
HUNT FA-REF-4 Z5691 .J68 2000
Tortora, Phyllis and Eubank, Keith. Survey of Historic Costume: A History of Western Dress. New York: Fairchild Books, 5th edition.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 GT580 .T67 2010
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Start with these reference works shelved behind the Hunt Library Arts Reference Desk to find scholarly entries on themes and
subjects on costume and dress or technical information. Some online reference works are also included here.
History
Calasibetta, Carlotte Mankey. Fairchild's Dictionary of Fashion. New York: Fairchild Publications, 1988.
HUNT FA-REF-4 TT503 .C34 1988Cassin-Scott, Jack. The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920. Poole: New York: Blandford, 1986
HUNT STACKS-4 GT585 .C83 1986
Condra, Jill. Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History. Greenwood Press, 2008.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 GT507 .G74 2008 (3 volumes)
Eicher, Joanne Bubolz. Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT507 .E54 2010. 10 volumes. And online via the Berg Fashion Library.
Hill, Daniel Delis. American Menswear from the Civil War to the Twenty-First Century. Texas Tech University Press.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT605 .H55 2011
Peterson, Amy T. The Greenwood encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History 1900 to the Present. Greenwood Press.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 GT615 .G74 2008
Steele, Valerie, ed. Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Charles Scribner's Sons.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT507 .e53, 2005. 3 volumes.
And online via the CMU Library Catalog and the Gale Virtual Reference Library
Tarassuk, Leonid and Blair, Claude, eds. The Complete Encyclopedia of Arms and Weapons...
New York: Simon and Schuster, 1982.
HUNT FA-REF-4 746.9 C737
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
Full-text dictionary online (via Credo Reference)
Wilcox, Ruth Turner. The Dictionary of Costume. New York: Scribner, 1969.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT507 .W5
Yarwood, Doreen. Encyclopedia of World Costume. New York: Scribner, 1978.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT507 .Y37
Holkeoer, Katherine Strand. Patterns for Theatrical Costumes: Garments Trims and Accessories from Ancient Egypt to 1915. New York: Drama Book Publishers, 1992.
HUNT FA-REF-4 TT633 .H65 1992
Ingham, Rosemary and Covey, Liz. The Costume Technician's Handbook. Portsmouth, NH : Heinemann Educational Books, Inc., 1992.
HUNT FA-REF-4 TT507 .I47 1992
