Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal & Magazine Articles
Need more databases? See Research Databases where you can filter by subjects and other criteria.
ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals
Digitized collection of 54 periodicals. It includes digital access to current volumes of all periodicals in “ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals covering all subject areas of American law.”
All subject academic database, covers material published from ca. 1980 - present. Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It @ CMU" button to see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What You Need" tab. Along with full text, the database offers the option for MP3 download.
America: History & Life with Full Text
1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Also has a non-US history counterpart, Historical Abstracts. You can also search both simultaneously. After connecting, click on Choose Database and scroll through the database list and select Historical Abstracts.
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
The Brennan Center is a nonpartisan law and policy institute that seeks to improve the systems of democracy and justice in the United States. The Center's work focuses on a wide range of issues, such as voting rights, campaign finance reform, racial justice in criminal law, and Constitutional protection in the fight against terrorism. The Center considers itself to be a think tank, public interest law firm, advocacy group and communications hub. Its law and policy scholarship addresses many issues, is largely written by attorneys, and is extensively peer-reviewed by scholars and legal practitioners.
CQ Press Library
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Database Guide
CQ Researcher plus Archive
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide
Homeland Security Digital Library
Collection of documents related to Homeland Security from variety of sources including federal, state and local agencies
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law. This first comprehensive database includes Board of Immigration Appeals, Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
Law Journal Library
Contains more than 1,620 law and law-related periodicals. Database Guide
1915-present. Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Public Administration Abstracts
Included bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance. Contains more than 93,600 records.