Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama: 54-171: Basic Design: 20th Century Visual Arts Practitioners: Biographical Dictionaries

Biographical Dictionaries


Provide a succinct overview of an artist's oeuvre and activities. Scholarly editions provide bibliographies of journal articles, books and other references leading to more information by and about the artist.

 

Scholarly “Biographical Dictionaries” (examples)

 

architects          

       International Dictionary 


Benbow-Pfalzgraf, Taryn. Contemporary Fashion. Detroit: St. James Press, 2002 (previous editions available)
HUNT FA-REF-4TT505 .A1 C66 2002

Emanuel, Muriel, et.al. Contemporary Architects. New York: St. James Press, 1994.
HUNT REF-4 NA680 .C625 1994 (previous editions available)

Pendergast, Sara and Pendergast,Tom, eds. Contemporary Artists. Chicago: St. James Press, 2002.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6490 .C6567 2002, 2 Vols. (previous editions available)

Pendergast, Sara. Contemporary Designers. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997.
HUNT FA-REF-4 NK1390 .C655 1997 (prevous editions available)

Evans, Martin Marix ed., et.al. Contemporary Photographers. New York: St. James Press, 1995.
HUNT FA-REF-4 TR139 .C664 1995 (previous editions available)

Hawkins-Dady, Mark., Shrimpton, Leanda,eds. International Dictionary of Theatre. Chicago and London: St. James Press, 1992.
Plays Volume 1
Playwrights Volume 2
Actors, Directors and Designers Volume 3
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2035 .I49 1992

Riggs, Thomas,ed.St. St. James Guide to Black Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997
HUNT FA-REF-4 N40 .S78 1997

Hillstrom,Laurie Collier and Kevin Hillstrom, eds. Contemporary Women Artists. Detroit : St. James Press, 1999.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N8345 .C66 1999

 

 Specialized Biographical Dictionaries (examples)

Lacy, Robin Thrulow. A Biographical Dictionary of Scenographers, 500 B.C. to 1900 A.D.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990
HUNT-FA-REF PN2096 .A1 L33 1990

Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers online
Credo Reference Online. (1986, 1989 and 1998)

Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers (2008)
HUNT-FA-REF-4 GT507 .O53 2008


Mikotowicz, Thomas J., and Arnold Aronson. Theatrical Designers: An International Biographical Dictionary.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
FA-REF PN2096 .A1 AM54 1992

 

Questions?

Mo Dawley, Art and Drama Librarian

Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Arts Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Send Email
Theatre Design Research Guide
Drama Research Guide