Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama: 54-171: Basic Design: 20th Century Visual Arts Practitioners: Surveys and Encyclopedias

Surveys and Encylopedias

Cross-disciplinary online

Oxford Reference Online
Scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, timelines, quotations and more.

Credo Reference
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies.

Arts: broad topics (examples)

Arnason, H. Harvard., and Elizabeth Mansfield. History of Modern Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Photography. 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2010.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 N6490 .A713 2010
Survey

Oxford Art Online
Encyclopedia covering the visual arts and related aspects.

Stokstad, Marilyn. Art History. 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Education, 2008.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N5300 .S923 2008
Survey

Berg Fashion Library online
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time (1600 to date) and by place (click on world map)


Boström, Antonia. Encyclopedia of Sculpture. London; New York: Phaidon Press, 2007
HUNT FA-REF-4 NB198 .C65 2007 3 Volumes.


Cambridge History of American Theatre. Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby, eds. New York; Cambridge: Cambridge University, Press, 1998.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2221 .C37 1998
Volume 1: Beginnings to 1870 Chapter 5: “Scenography, Stagecraft and Architecture in the American Theatre.”
Volume 2: 1870-1945 Chapter 8: “Scenography, Stagecraft, and Architecture”
Volume 3: Post-World War II-1990s Chapter 7: “American Theatre Design Since 1945.”
Includes extensive timelines.


Sennot, Stephen. Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
HUNT FA-REF-4 NA680 .E495 2004 3 Volumes. (earlier edition available)


Marter, Joan M. Grove Encyclopedia of American Art.   New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.
HUNT FA-REF-4  N6505 .G76 2010. 5 Volumes.


Warren, Lynne. Encyclopedia of 20th Century Photography. New York: Routledge, 2006
HUNT FA-REF-4 TR642 .E5 2006 3 Volumes

Arts: narrowly focused topics (examples)

Durozoi, Gérard. History of the Surrealist Movement. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2002
HUNT FA-REF-4 NX456.5 .S8 D8713 2002

Rubinstein, Charlotte Streifer. American Women Sculptors: A History of Women Working in Three Dimensions. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1990.
HUNT FA-REF-4 NB236 .R8 1990

Questions?

Mo Dawley, Art and Drama Librarian

Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Arts Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Send Email
Theatre Design Research Guide
Drama Research Guide