Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical Engineering : Chemical Engineering Databases

Finding Articles and Research Papers

Databases are searchable indexes of the research articles in journals. They do not house the articles themselves, but will usually link to where you can find the full text. Look for the blue "find it at CMU" button! Some of the most useful databases to get started with for chemistry are the following:  
 
Engineering Village/Compendex/Inspec

Engineering Village/Compendex/Inspec include research in all engineering fields, physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.

SciFinder 

SciFinder provides access to the entire Chemical Abstracts database, indexing nearly 9,500 journals from 1907-present, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, as well as patents from 50 active patent issuing authorities around the world.) First time users must register using this link. Make sure you are connected to the campus using VPN for the first time registration.

Reaxys 

Reaxys is a web access to comprehensive information of organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds, their syntheses and properties that includes Crossfire Beilstein and Gmelin databases.

Web of Science

A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Cambridge Structural Database

Provides access to the world's repository of small molecule crystal structures. It also gives comprehensive and retrospective coverage of the published literature.

Materials Science & Engineering Database

Comprehensive source on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Database Guide

METADEX 

Comprehensive source on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.

Engineered Materials Abstracts 

Citations regard the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites.

Contact

 

Neelam Bharti, Ph.D.

nbharti@andrew.cmu.edu

Mellon Institute Library

412-268-6107