CMU LibGuides: Business and Industrial History: Pictorial Resources

Pictorial Resources

Ad*Access
From Digital Scriptorium, Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.
Browse or search for U. S. and Canadian newspaper and magazine ads from 1911-1955. The five main subject areas covered are radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920
From John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History/Digital Scriptorium, Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.
Over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. Search the collection or browse and search across categories. Includes a timeline of selected events in business technology, media, marketing, and advertising from 1850 to 1920.
Industrial Revolution in America [interactive multimedia].
Request from Offsite using link above
Presents a multimedia view of the United States as a center of industry through three main video-based presentations which are enhanced by a gallery of black-and-white stills, index, glossary, quiz, and interactive timeline. The gallery includes sketches of various inventions, innovations, and scenes from the 19th century.

Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations. Has many ads throughout the magazine

19th Century American Trade Card
Boston Public Library
Over 4,000 advertising trade cards, with accompanying digital images.
TradeCardPlace
From Ben Crane.
For all who are interested in Victorian Trade Cards used to advertise American goods and services during the late 1800s.
Trade Catalogs in the University of Delaware Library
From Special Collections Department, University of Delaware.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study.

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, First Year Writing, History, Language & Linguistics, Reference, Religion, Women's Studies