Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Magazine Articles
If full text links for journal articles are not provided, click to see retrieval options. This is only for journal article citations, and may not be available in all databases. Otherwise, use the library catalog to see if materials are in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries. If they aren't, you can use the ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service to obtain the material.
Carnegie Mellon users only. Find articles on all topics, many from peer reviewed journals.
America: History & Life with Full Text
1964-present (Carnegie Mellon users only).
Citations and some abstracts to journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers all historical topics, including foreign policy, and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore, etc. Also has a non-US history counterpart Historical Abstracts
. You can also search America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
ca. 1970s-present. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports,pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Exact dates vary by publication, with most ca. 1990s-present.
Carnegie Mellon users only. Search full text of articles in important academic journals in all disciplines. Exact dates of coverage varies by journal. NOTE: latest few years not available.
Law Journal Library
Dates of coverage vary by title. Collection of more than 1,100 law and law- related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most current issue allowed, based on contracts with publishers.
Carnegie Mellon users only. Search current full text of humanities and social science journals. Exact dates vary by journal title. NOTE: Usually no coverage of material published pre-2000.