CMU LibGuides: Standards: Digital Collections

Our Digital Collections

The list on the right provides ready access to the databases of standards that we have at Carnegie Mellon University.

Access is expensive, so please make lots of use of them for your design, research and teaching.

Important Digital Standards Collections at Carnegie Mellon

ANSI IBR Portal
"[P]rovides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options." "All users will be required to install the FileOpen plug-in and accept an online end user license agreement prior to accessing any standards." - ANSI IBR web site.

ASSIST (The U.S. Department of Defense Standards Database) This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to Defense Standardization Program documents obtained from the official DoD repository, the ASSIST database. We will have access to standards allowed for public distribution.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information in a broad range of engineering disciplines. Update:We now have free access to API Test Methods component of ASTM Compass, which includes all of the API active and historical standards and methods, addenda, errata and supplements. We have recently added a large number of ISO and IEC standards as well. Estimated to be 85 percent of all ISO standards, the ASTM Compass database includes ISO and IEC standards that have been adopted/approved by the UK or any EU nation.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
MADCAD This link opens in a new window
Online access to International (ICC) building codes, related standards from ASHRAE, ASTM, NFPA, etc., USGBC LEED Reference Guides, and Wiley’s Graphic Standards.
NISO Standards This link opens in a new window
NISO (National Information Standards Organization) standards are available for free. Search or browse by name and designation. These technical standards are related to publishing, bibliographic and library applications.
Protocols.io This link opens in a new window
An open access repository for recording and sharing detailed up-to-date research methods and protocols in any discipline. You can learn how to take advantage of our institutional benefits here. To claim your free premium account, make an account using your CMU email address.
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed summaries and bibliographic data for SAE technical papers since 1906, magazine articles, books, all ground vehicle and aerospace standards, specifications, and research reports.