CMU LibGuides: Standards: Finding Standards

General Advice

Don't be surprised if locating standards proves to be difficult. Databases for locating standards often only have a title for you search by keyword. Standards are regularly updated (usually) and the version that you want might depend on your specific information needs. Be prepared to think about alternative terms - is it a blast wall or a protective structural barrier? Ask a librarian for help!

Search Terms and Available Databases for Identifying Standards

To locate a standard, you should have at least some of the following details:

    Name of the publishing organization (often referred to as the SDO - Standards Developing Organization)
    Standard number
    Title
    Subject

Often, another information source will provide this information for you, but when it doesn't you may have to use a search engine:

ANSI WebStore
Provides standards-related information from a wide range of developers, including organizations accredited by ANSI, other U.S. private sector standards bodies, government agencies and international organizations.
Standards Store (by Accuris)
Accuris, formerly IHS, is the industry's most comprehensive source of hardcopy and PDF technical industry standards and government and military standards. Also, Accuris publishes a variety of highly acclaimed reference books, manuals, and comprehensive guides.

General Thoughts - Discovery of Standards

Literature searching (like Compendex, which actually indexes standards)
References in handbooks or specialized encyclopedia entries (or other monographs)
Articles on design of artifacts (products)
Discussions with colleagues/bosses
Product descriptions when sourcing materials for a design
Labels on items or cartons
Searching a standards supplier database

Incorporated by Reference

ANSI Incorporated by Reference Web Site
"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.

Standards available on the ANSI IBR Portal include those developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and other standards developing organizations (SDOs) that have signed a terms and conditions agreement with ANSI. To access the standards in PDF format, go to the Hosted by ANSI tab above. All users will be required to install the FileOpen plug-in and accept an online end user license agreement prior to accessing any standards.

In addition to the standards available directly through the portal, several SDOs are offering free access via their own website. Links are provided in the Hosted by SDOs tab above." - web site.